Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#145 2010-06-27 15:37:08

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

JanDW wrote:

..Any idea what the problem is? Thanks – Jan

As far as I can see the only rule that isn’t working is the third one, right?
Without going to much into details this can happen If you don’t set rules in the proper order (I mention this in the plugin help).
The fact is the plugin outputs jquery rules which must have a certain order – this is not a bug. When this happens just try to change the rules order.
In your case try to remove the third rule and than recreate it so it will be applied after “Event start time” is moved after “event start date”.
If you think well about the order in which your rules are executed you’ll find it is simply logical: first you are moving item A after item B and then you move item B again, but this time item A remains where you first moved it … I hope it makes sense.

Last edited by redbot (2010-06-27 17:51:23)

Offline

#146 2010-06-27 19:25:53

JanDW
Plugin Author
From: Providence, RI, USA
Registered: 2008-07-18
Posts: 327
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

Geez… I took that sorta into consideration, but I still messed up. Sorry. I’ve got it working now. Cheers!


TXPDream – A Textpattern Tag Library for Adobe Dreamweaver. (updated for 4.2.0) | jdw_if_ajax – Only serve certain parts of a page when requested with AJAX

Offline

#147 2010-06-28 10:13:18

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 619
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

redbot wrote:

This is better:

Thanks there is a small problem that it selecting the last section automatically,
so then when you view the Write-tab that last-section become selected like it’s the default one.
this can be fix by removing the click }); .click(); at the end, or change it to }); $("div.pselect a:first").click();
the result

EDIT: oops the second idea is nt good because it will always select the first section even when you view an article that you already published to an other section.
I will love to know if you got a trick to fix this too please ;)

Last edited by THE BLUE DRAGON (2010-06-28 10:36:50)

Offline

#148 2010-06-28 16:57:38

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

THE BLUE DRAGON wrote:

the result

Nice! However I should stop posting code late at night without testing.

Once again, This should work (as usual is not tested):

  <script type="text/javascript">
    $(document).ready(function() {
        var selectedSection = $("#section").val();
        var sections=["default", "articles"]; // add sections here
		var string = '';
	    for(var i=0; i<sections.length; i++) {
			string += '<li><a class="sectionLinks" href="#">' + sections[i] + '</a></li>';
		}
	    $("#section").parent().append('<ul>'+string+'</ul>');
	    $(".sectionLinks").filter(function(){
            return $(this).text() == selectedSection;
        }).css("color", "#f00");
	    $(".sectionLinks").click(function(){
			$(".sectionLinks").css("color", "");
			$(this).css("color", "#f00");
			selectedText = $(this).text();
			$("#section").val(selectedText);
			$("#section").change();
			return false;
		});
    });
</script>

Offline

#149 2010-06-28 17:11:54

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 619
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

redbot wrote:

This should work (as usual is not tested):

Yea working good now! thanks =)

Offline

#150 2010-06-28 18:57:42

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 619
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

What do you say about having a script to create auto articles titles for each section base on the data from custom-fields?
The idea is to have a jQuery script that will copy the typed content (live/onthefly) from specific custom fields,
and then write that content into the Title field.
so the user will not need to type a title and it will be automatically created.

For example if you post a release/song details into custom fields as “Artist”,“Title”,“Label”,“release date”
then the title will automatically be: redbot – Amazing plugins – TXP (2010)
because lets face it, it’s effort to require users to type details twice. (in custom-fields & Title)
of course you can also choose to hide the Title field or not for letting users the possibility to make changes.

If it’s hard so another idea is to create custom submit button instead of the regular ‘Publish’ button,
and then when you will click on it, first it will copy the content to the Title field and then do the submit.

I believe jQuery (our best friend LOL) can do this, will it be something hard to write a script for please?

BTW: I installed “bot_cat_per_section_hide” and it works great too =) so another thanks for it to you!

EDIT: here is a start point that I wrote:

<script type="text/javascript">
$(document).ready(function(){
$("form[name='article'] input[type='submit']").click(function(){
	$("#title").attr("value",$("#custom-1").val());
	$("form[name='article']").submit();
	return false;
	});
});
</script>

Now I need it to include more fields then just custom-1 value,
and that it will be base on section.

Last edited by THE BLUE DRAGON (2010-06-28 23:14:48)

Offline

#151 2010-06-29 11:23:06

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

A simple and non tested example:

<script type="text/javascript">
    $(document).ready(function() {
        $(".publish").click(function(){
            var cf1 = $("input[name=custom_1]").val();
            var cf2 = $("input[name=custom_2]").val();
            var cf3 = $("input[name=custom_3]").val();
            var string = cf1 + cf2 + cf3;
            $("#title").val(string);
        })
    });
</script>

I see you now want it to be section based so it becomes more difficult ad requires more attention (which I don’t have cos I’m at work now and I won’t have too much free time in the near future).

Offline

#152 2010-06-29 14:10:18

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 619
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

redbot wrote:

A simple and non tested example:

Thanks =)

redbot wrote:

I see you now want it to be section based

I used your code from “bot_cat_per_section_hide” and it works ;)

<script type="text/javascript">
    $(document).ready(function() {
        $(".publish").click(function(){
            var value = $("select#section.list option:selected").val();
            var cf1 = $("input[name=custom_1]").val();
            var cf2 = $("input[name=custom_2]").val();
            var cf3 = $("input[name=custom_3]").val();
            if (value=="default"){var string = cf1 + " - " + cf2;}
            if (value=="articles"){var string = cf3;}
            $("#title").val(string);
        })
    });
</script>

Cool 8-)

Offline

#153 2010-07-07 19:25:55

Katalonian
Member
From: Baku, Azerbaijan
Registered: 2010-04-18
Posts: 219
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

this plugin doesn’t work right with rah_write_each_section and no way to hide some fields not by sections, by users ?


<txp:txp_me />

Offline

#154 2010-07-07 22:15:51

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

Katalonian wrote:

this plugin doesn’t work right with rah_write_each_section…

Why? You should give more details. Of course they work ok for me

…and no way to hide some fields not by sections, by users ?

ied_hide_in_admin

Offline

#155 2010-07-08 09:24:22

Katalonian
Member
From: Baku, Azerbaijan
Registered: 2010-04-18
Posts: 219
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

redbot wrote:

this plugin doesn’t work right with rah_write_each_section…

Why? You should give more details. Of course they work ok for me

When i’m hide sections, and turn on rah_write_each_section, after entering to sections, the hided fields still showing

…and no way to hide some fields not by sections, by users ?

ied_hide_in_admin

thanks


<txp:txp_me />

Offline

#156 2010-07-08 10:02:01

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

Katalonian wrote:

…When i’m hide sections, and turn on rah_write_each_section, after entering to sections, the hided fields still showing

Do you mean that – when you hide some sections in the “Hide sections in sections dropdown” menu – these sections are still visible when you go to the write tab (and you see the rah_write_each_section interface)?

If this is the question that’s the expectded behaviour: rah_write_each_section has his own methods to show/hide sections in its menu.
If you read it’s instructions you’ll see that the inclusion in the menu is determined by the section having the option “Syndicate? “ (in the ‘sections’ tab) checked.

So you must take care of this to make the two work together: when you hide a section with bot_wtc you should also go in the ‘sections’ tab and uncheck “Syndicate?” for each hidden section.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB