Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#133 2010-06-24 14:49:10

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 619
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

I will love to know how can I make a links-menu instead of the regular section select-box?
I got a code that let me changing the options of the select-box,
but it’s not hiding the fields/change positions as if I’m selecting it regularly from the select-box.
(of course after it will work I will just hide the select-box using CSS)

<script type="text/javascript">
function sselect(v) {
document.article.section.value = v;
}
</script>
<a href="#" onclick=\'sselect("default");\'>default</a>
<a href="#" onclick=\'sselect("articles");\'>articles</a>

Offline

#134 2010-06-26 15:37:52

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

JanDW wrote:

…This plugin + glz_custom_fields = manna from the txp heavens.

Thank you, but it seems to be not so manna-ish to me, if it continues to sport such silly bugs!
I was sure I fixed it but I was wrong – grrrr…

Anyway I think I found why. Can you help me to fix it definitely with a little test if you have two minutes to spend?
Edit the plugins code and replace this line (around line 649):

$bot_wtc_script = get_magic_quotes_gpc() ? $bot_wtc_script : mysql_real_escape_string($bot_wtc_script) ;

with these two lines:

$bot_wtc_script = get_magic_quotes_gpc() ? stripslashes($bot_wtc_script) : $bot_wtc_script ;
$bot_wtc_script = mysql_real_escape_string($bot_wtc_script);

Then try to insert your original js (non escaped) in the plugins jquery box. It should work now (I hope!)

Last edited by redbot (2010-06-26 15:39:22)

Offline

#135 2010-06-26 16:44:57

Gocom
Developer Emeritus
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 4,533
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

redbot wrote:

[…]Edit the plugins code and replace this line (around line 649):[…]

Redbot, you might want to look into some Textpattern’s core functions:

  • doSlash() – escapes the query
  • gps() – returns GET and POST with magic quotes removed. Will cause no conflicts with doSlash().
  • ps() – same but only for POST.
  • gpsa() – fetches an array of POST and GET variables.

All of those do what you are doing by checking PHP’s configuration and might make the code cleaner and easier to implement :-)

Hope it helps :-)

Offline

#136 2010-06-26 17:23:27

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

Gocom wrote:

…Hope it helps :-)

Yes, it helps indeed. Thanks Jukka! I’ll use these functions for sure in the next release, together with your other useful coding suggestions.
Thanks again!

Offline

#137 2010-06-26 18:17:00

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

THE BLUE DRAGON wrote:

..I will love to know how can I make a links-menu instead of the regular section select-box?

1) Your js doesn’t work because the plugin is based on the change() event
2) Why did you put the links outside the <script> tag? it works but it’s sort of a hack. Create the links within the script and append them where you like instead.

I’m more familiar with Jquery nowadays so I’ll do this way

<script type="text/javascript">
    $(document).ready(function() {
        var sections=["default", "articles"]; // add sections here
	var string = '';
        for(var i=0; i<sections.length; i++) {
		string += '<li><a class="sectionLinks" href="#">' + sections[i] + '</a></li>';
	}
        $("#section").parent().append('<ul>'+string+'</ul>');
        $(".sectionLinks").click(function(){
		selectedText = $(this).text();
		$("#section").val(selectedText);
		$("#section").change();
		return false;
	})
    });
</script>

You have to add the sections you want to use in the array (look for the comment in the code).
In this example I appended the links to the same paragraph which is surrounding the sections list and wrapped them in a ul.
If you want the links to appear in another place or with another markup change the code accordingly (or ask here).

P.S. this could be easily automated (automatically build a list of links for each section) but this would override the hidden sections settings (it’a doable but it will require some more thinking).

Last edited by redbot (2010-06-26 18:30:01)

Offline

#138 2010-06-26 20:36:41

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 619
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

redbot wrote:

I’m more familiar with Jquery nowadays so I’ll do this way

Sweeeettt!!! thanks :)
And yea jQuery is our best friend LOL ;)
Now the write tab is even more customize, and we can also drop these links into the regular main menu nav.

Offline

#139 2010-06-26 21:13:34

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 619
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

I want to add an “active” style to the chosen link(section)
something like: $(this).css({color: '#f00'});
how can I do this right please?

Last edited by THE BLUE DRAGON (2010-06-26 21:14:09)

Offline

#140 2010-06-27 01:35:19

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

THE BLUE DRAGON wrote:

I want to add an “active” style to the chosen link(section)

<script type="text/javascript">
    $(document).ready(function() {
	    $(function() {
	        var sections=["default", "articles"]; // add sections here
		var string = '';
	        for(var i=0; i<sections.length; i++) {
			string += '<li><a class="sectionLinks" href="#">' + sections[i] + '</a></li>';
		}
	        $("#section").parent().append('<ul>'+string+'</ul>');
	        $(".sectionLinks").click(function(){
			$(".sectionLinks").css("color", "");
			$(this).css("color", "#f00");
			selectedText = $(this).text();
			$("#section").val(selectedText);
			$("#section").change();
			return false;
		}).click();
	    });
    });
</script>

This is a little more complicated… but why all this? can’t you use rah_write_each_section?

Last edited by redbot (2010-06-27 12:03:21)

Offline

#141 2010-06-27 06:31:27

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 619
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

Thanks again! works great!

redbot wrote:

This is a little more complicated… but why all this? can’t you use rah_write_each_section?

I prefer to create my own custom menu, and thanks to you now I got it =)

Offline

#142 2010-06-27 12:26:15

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

No problem. BTW I was re-reading my code and realized it was too rushed (there are two unnecessary lines). This is better:

<script type="text/javascript">
    $(document).ready(function() {
	        var sections=["default", "articles"]; // add sections here
		var string = '';
	        for(var i=0; i<sections.length; i++) {
			string += '<li><a class="sectionLinks" href="#">' + sections[i] + '</a></li>';
		}
	        $("#section").parent().append('<ul>'+string+'</ul>');
	        $(".sectionLinks").click(function(){
			$(".sectionLinks").css("color", "");
			$(this).css("color", "#f00");
			selectedText = $(this).text();
			$("#section").val(selectedText);
			$("#section").change();
			return false;
		}).click();
    });
</script>

Offline

#143 2010-06-27 14:09:05

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

JanDW wrote:

Hi redbot – I’m trying to add some additional js:
… when I click update to save it then I get the following error:

Warning: You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '}); ', html='textarea' where name = 'bot_wtc_script'' at line 2 update txp_prefs set val= ' ', html='textarea' where name = 'bot_wtc_script' C:\xampp\htdocs\tiatxp.dev\textpattern\lib\txplib_misc.php(594) : eval()'d code:650 safe_update() in C:\xampp\htdocs\tiatxp.dev\textpattern\lib\txplib_db.php on line 85

Version 0.6.2 should definetely fix this issue.

Offline

#144 2010-06-27 15:07:56

JanDW
Plugin Author
From: Providence, RI, USA
Registered: 2008-07-18
Posts: 327
Website

Re: bot_write_tab_customize: rearrange and style items in the write tab

Hi again Redbot – sorry I haven’t been able to get back to you before. Thanks for the updated version!

I’m experiencing another problem — I’m doing this:

which results in this

Any idea what the problem is? Thanks – Jan


TXPDream – A Textpattern Tag Library for Adobe Dreamweaver. (updated for 4.2.0) | jdw_if_ajax – Only serve certain parts of a page when requested with AJAX

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB