Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2018-08-15 18:04:23

Destry
Website

I want to edit/delete my forum data

Haha! You’ll find some fresh undies in the room at right.

But, I’m only half joking. I’ve actually been thinking about this for a while now and just not bothered to bring it up yet. Might as well ask the questions that anyone else could more seriously ask:

1. I’m using my real first name (which is dumb, but unforeseen at the time). What do I do to get it changed to something more anonymous?
  2. I’ve been posting in here since 2004. A great majority of it completely obsolete at this point. How can I get the tapeworm’s proglottids removed?

I think you’d have reason to deny requests for complete deletion of an account. (Maybe. Maybe not. You delete bad accounts all the time, so why not good ones by sincere request?) But it’s perfectly feasible there could be some kind of back-post removal feature, like a number of posts ago, or a given time interval in years. Something consistent for everyone across the board.

So what do you say to these kinds of requests? And what’s the justification as the ‘Controller’ would be concerned?

I’m an armchair historian like anyone else, so I can appreciate the historical value (though old forum history is mostly nostalgia at this point), but let’s address the elephant.

#2 2018-08-15 21:16:59

jakob
Admin
Website

Re: I want to edit/delete my forum data

I’m sure that’s possible but … Destry, I like you as you are ;-) Your fingerprints are also all over Textpattern, in the docs and in notes, thank yous and credits in the code and plugins, in txpmag and your first “Textpattern mechanics” instructions and … and … and …. And deservedly so, too.