Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2007-04-25 06:56:22

resplence

What does your client think of TXP, and how do you deal with that?

As a designer, I value the respect and preservation of my ideas. When I started working with web design, I was scared of how little control we have over the final product, as opposed to print design — and I’m not talking about browsers.

In print, when I finish a file, that’s it. It is finished; closed and sealed. If the client wants any changes, he has to ask me for it, and I get to charge accordingly (depending on the contract). And he knows this is how it works.

In web design, all the client needs to do is edit the source code or mess around in the CMS. More often than not this breaks the layout or his customizations just plain nullify the design (“I think big bold red text will really emphasize this point”). In the case that he has no patience for that and calls me asking for further adjustments, he gets frustrated for:

1. Not being delivered a product exactly the way he wanted (even though it was agreed upon prior to closing the deal);
2. Believing he should not have to pay for the extra changes since it was my fault for “messing up” the first time.

It can also be very frustrating trying to explain to a complete non-techie client how to update the site on his own, add or edit sections, etc., even when using the “simple systems” such as TextPattern or Wordpress. I’m used to creating identity and branding manuals, but creating user manuals for that end is exhausting.

I’ve also heard of a funny case where the client found out that the CMS his site runs on is free, and thinks the designer ripped him off by charging for the site.

So, I’d like to hear how do you deal with that, and if you have any bizarre/funny/retarded case to share.

#2 2007-04-25 07:38:57

jm
Plugin Author
Website

Re: What does your client think of TXP, and how do you deal with that?