Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
#25 2007-01-05 08:46:48
- marios
- Archived Plugin Author
- Registered: 2005-03-12
- Posts: 1,253
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
I am missing the functionality to have it return false, when only one condition returns false ( for multi-tag usage)
Is anyone else still interested in this ( to extend this plugin ) ?
regards, marios
⌃ ⇧ < ⎋ ⌃ ⇧ >
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
takshaka wrote:
This tag may be used to determine whether some contained Txp tags output any data, allowing the conditional output of accompanying static markup, like a header or a “no articles found” message.
—> I can’t get the plug-in to return “No articles found” and have the following code in my search_results form:
<code><txp:chh_if_data>
<p>Here’s an article list containing your search inquiry</p>
<p><txp:search_result_title /></p>
<txp:else />
<p>No articles found</p>
</txp:chh_if_data></code>
All I get are the search results. Which at least is a beginning. ;-)
Any advice?
Thanks!
Dada
Last edited by dada78 (2007-01-17 20:41:24)
Offline
#27 2007-01-17 23:26:27
- els
- Moderator
- From: The Netherlands
- Registered: 2004-06-06
- Posts: 7,458
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
Try this:
On the page:
<txp:if_search>
<txp:chh_if_data>
<p>Here’s an article list containing your search inquiry</p>
<txp:article />
<txp:else />
<p>No articles found</p>
</txp:chh_if_data>
</txp:if_search>
In form search_results:
<p><txp:search_result_title /></p>
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
Why doesn’t this work in form: ‘search_results’?
<txp:chh_if_data>
<div class="search">
<h4><txp:permlink><txp:title /></txp:permlink></h4>
<p><txp:search_result_excerpt /></p>
<txp:else />
<h4>Oops ... no results!</h4>
<p>Try another search ... :)</p>
</div>
</txp:chh_if_data>
Last edited by RedFox (2007-07-29 11:21:47)
Offline
#29 2007-07-29 13:48:05
- els
- Moderator
- From: The Netherlands
- Registered: 2004-06-06
- Posts: 7,458
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
RedFox wrote:
Why doesn’t this work in form: ‘search_results’?
Because as far as I know you can only use one txp tag inside chh_if_data (otherwise it won’t know which tag to check for data).
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
For the conditional display of content depending on the result of a search try rss_if_search_results.
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
That doesn’t work either!
<div class="search">
<txp:rss_if_search_results>
<h4><txp:permlink><txp:title /></txp:permlink></h4>
<p><txp:search_result_excerpt /></p>
<txp:else />
<h4>Oops ... no results!</h4>
<p>Try another search ... :)</p>
</txp:rss_if_search_results>
</div>
Offline
#32 2007-07-29 20:00:10
- els
- Moderator
- From: The Netherlands
- Registered: 2004-06-06
- Posts: 7,458
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
Joop, this will achieve the same and it will work :)
On the page:
<txp:if_search>
<div class="search">
<txp:chh_if_data> (or <txp:rss_if_search_results>)
<txp:article form="search_results" />
<txp:else />
<h4>Oops ... no results!</h4>
<p>Try another search ... :)</p>
</txp:chh_if_data> (or </txp:rss_if_search_results>)
</div>
</txp:if_search>
Form ‘search_results’:
<h4><txp:permlink><txp:title /></txp:permlink></h4>
<p><txp:search_result_excerpt /></p>
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
Els, <txp:chh_if_data> is working. With <txp:rss_if_search_results> TXP is asking for an article tag … !? Thanks for help.
Offline
#34 2007-10-22 10:12:59
- Minde
- New Member
- Registered: 2007-10-22
- Posts: 1
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
Brilliant plugin. Just what I’ve been looking for. Thanks!
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
This plugin is one I wish I’d thought of. Brilliant, just brilliant. Two thumbs up and some toes aswell since it has saved me from alot of workarounds and hacks doing some TXP magic.
The multiple tag feature as mentioned earlier would make it sweeter. But it’s sweet allready.
Plugins:
ob1_advanced_search 1.032b, ob1_search_score 1.0, ob1_pagination 2.5, ob1_title 4.1, ob1_modified 2.1
“Let your plans be dark and as impenetratable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt.”
— Sun Tzu
Offline
#36 2008-06-27 05:46:06
- gomedia
- Plugin Author
- Registered: 2008-06-01
- Posts: 1,373
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] chh_if_data
This plugin was exactly what I was looking for except it was failing because blank lines were being counted as “data”. I don’t know why blank lines are appearing, but in this particular situation they are simply whitespace on the web page.
I tweaked the chh_if_data code as follows:
Line 2, changed to:
$atts = lAtts(array('debug' => 0,'ignore' => 0), $atts);
Insert line:
if ($atts['ignore']) $parsed = trim($parsed);
before:
$parsed_len = strlen($parsed);
Now I can call chh_if_data with an extra attribute:
<txp:chh_if_data ignore="1"> <txp:article_custom ...... /> <txp:else /> <p>Nothing today</p> </txp:chh_if_data>
Extraneous whitespace is now ignored and the “Nothing today” message is displayed when there’re no articles.
Offline