Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2018-04-26 15:38:04

CodeWalker
Member
From: Hampshire, UK
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 110
Website

Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

Im upgrading a very old site (running on 4.0.4!!!) to 4.6.2. I updated all the files, ran into the default posted date doesn’t have a value issue (fixed that by dropping the default values for all the date fields in the database). Now the errors are gone, but I cant get off the language screen you see after first login.

Im not entirely sure everything went dandy with the upgrade script becuase the version number in in the txp_prefs table still says 4.0.4.

How do i get off the language screen? Was 4.0.4 to 4.6.2 one giant leap to far?

Last edited by CodeWalker (2018-04-26 15:39:15)

Offline

#2 2018-04-26 15:47:38

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,224
Website GitHub

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

It should be okay making such a leap, but if there were any weird things that interrupted the upgrade process then sometimes it can get stuck.

One thing to try is set the site to Live production status, then go into your database and check the version string in the txp_prefs table. If that says 4.6.2 but the upgrade hasn’t happened properly, log out of Txp, edit that pref back to 4.0.4 (or something higher depending on how far you think the upgrade went) then log in again to retrigger the update script.

Last edited by Bloke (2018-04-26 15:49:38)


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#3 2018-04-26 15:53:34

CodeWalker
Member
From: Hampshire, UK
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

Hmm…. that didnt do it. I cant go to anything at all other then the language screen. Version number is refusing to budge from 4.0.4. Is there way to tell it which language i want to use via the DB?

Last edited by CodeWalker (2018-04-26 15:56:34)

Offline

#4 2018-04-26 16:04:02

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,224
Website GitHub

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

Try setting the version number a bit higher? You don’t want to miss a script, but it may have got through and done some already. You won’t necessarily know how far it got unless you look at your DB structure and compare it to any changes in the various scripts to see what’s been done, then set the value back to the version prior to that.

Bit of a faff, sorry. The key thing is that you set the production status to Live prior to attempting, because some configurations trigger errors that cause the update to just bomb out. We’ve fixed that (hopefully for good) now but that doesn’t really help really old upgrades, unfortunately.

Even if you set the language manually, it won’t help as it’ll keep trying to upgrade all the time the DB version string doesn’t match what’s in the file system.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#5 2018-04-26 16:30:50

CodeWalker
Member
From: Hampshire, UK
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

Status is live, i set the version to 4.5.0 in the prefs table, logged out and in, and the version changed back to 4.0.4….. sigh…

Anything else I can do?

Offline

#6 2018-04-26 16:34:33

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,224
Website GitHub

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

CodeWalker wrote #311440:

Status is live, i set the version to 4.5.0 in the prefs table, logged out and in, and the version changed back to 4.0.4….. sigh…

Whaaaat?! That’s just weird. Are your files all definitely up-to-date in the filesystem?


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#7 2018-04-26 16:38:53

CodeWalker
Member
From: Hampshire, UK
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

Yup, absolutely. I just did it again to no avail.

Offline

#8 2018-04-26 17:22:36

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,224
Website GitHub

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

Sounds like it’s choking on something during upgrade. Never heard of it going back a version though. That’s just crazy.

Erm. What happens if you just pretend everything’s dandy and set the pref to 4.6.2?


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#9 2018-04-26 18:21:13

kuopassa
Plugin Author
From: Porvoo, Finland
Registered: 2008-12-03
Posts: 211
Website

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

If you have plugins enabled, try disabling them all using for example phpMyAdmin or some other database tool…

Offline

#10 2018-04-26 18:56:38

CodeWalker
Member
From: Hampshire, UK
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

Flushing out the plugins was the first thing i tried, don’t think it helped (it’s using a plugin cache in the file system anyway so i just pulled the folder contents out).

However…. setting the pref to 4.6.2 did help. Trouble is, now im a bit wary of it cos I dont know if anything failed or got skipped over during the upgrade. i did check the PHP error logs but there was nothing in there.

It seems happy enough…. guess I’ll never know…

Last edited by CodeWalker (2018-04-26 18:59:58)

Offline

#11 2018-04-26 19:01:59

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,594
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

Do your diagnostics indicate anything?


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | State Machines | NeMe @ github
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#12 2018-04-26 19:03:50

CodeWalker
Member
From: Hampshire, UK
Registered: 2010-01-08
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Upgrade old site stuck on language screen

Only warnings about paths because i copied down from a live server, but i’ve fixed those now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB