Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2006-10-18 14:18:01

hcgtv
Plugin Author
From: Miami, Florida
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 2,721
Website

Code posting < & > changing

Just noticed that any code I’ve posted up recently has changed somewhat.

Seems like now any < or > are changed to #60 & #62 when I view the post today.

I’ve been using the new bc.. lately.

Offline

#2 2006-10-18 17:05:41

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: Code posting < & > changing

I noticed that too. Doesn’t make it very readable, does it?

This:

<pre>bc.. <looks like this></pre>

becomes:

<looks like this>

Hey, and <pre> </pre> is acting strange as well?

Does this mean we can actually post code without wrapping it in something?

<txp:code />

Yes!!! But what if we want a yellow background and a dashed border and < and >?

Offline

#3 2006-10-18 17:14:15

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: Code posting < & > changing

I tried

pre. <this is code> and bc. <this is code> (as says the textile site, and Mary says it’s the same?) but it also renders:

<this is code>

and

<this is code>

Offline

#4 2006-10-19 17:55:21

Mary
Sock Enthusiast
Registered: 2004-06-27
Posts: 6,236

Offline

#5 2006-10-19 20:51:13

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: Code posting < & > changing

Thanks :)

Offline

#6 2006-10-20 00:14:39

hcgtv
Plugin Author
From: Miami, Florida
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 2,721
Website

Re: Code posting < & > changing

What’s the difference between full textile and the restricted one?

Offline

#7 2006-10-21 01:28:44

Mary
Sock Enthusiast
Registered: 2004-06-27
Posts: 6,236

Re: Code posting < & > changing

Restricted has stronger security.

Edit: let’s try that again.

Last edited by Mary (2006-10-22 10:07:55)

Offline

#8 2006-10-22 15:19:58

hcgtv
Plugin Author
From: Miami, Florida
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 2,721
Website

Re: Code posting < & > changing

Hi Mary,

I read your post and I have a suggestion.

Since the forum is running a restricted Textile implementation, would it be a good idea to setup a site like the one that Alex has setup but just showing the tags that can be used on the forum. Newbies can then visit this forum textile restricted site to play around and get familiar with what can be posted on this forum, hopefully with some examples, etc.

Cause honestly, I’m still a bit confused. I’ve never really gotten a good handle on this forum and now with all the changes, I’m sort of back to square one.

Offline

#9 2006-10-23 02:29:36

Mary
Sock Enthusiast
Registered: 2004-06-27
Posts: 6,236

Re: Code posting < & > changing

You can add links, images, make text bold or emphasized, lists… Pretty much anything you could do before. Once the more in-depth documentation for Textile is available, it will be linked to as well.

Offline

#10 2006-10-23 23:47:40

NyteOwl
Member
From: Nova Scotia, Canada
Registered: 2005-09-24
Posts: 539

Re: Code posting < & > changing

I read your post and I have a suggestion.

Since the forum is running a restricted Textile implementation, would it be a good idea to setup a site like the one that Alex has setup but just showing the tags that can be used on the forum. Newbies can then visit this forum textile restricted site to play around and get familiar with what can be posted on this forum, hopefully with some examples, etc.

I realize that Textile is a favoured child of the Textpattern developers, and much of the community, but it isn’t always flexible, not is it particularly intuitive – in fact it’s rather arcane unless you use it all the time. I have never understood the policy of restricting the forum to Textile tags.

Cause honestly, I’m still a bit confused. I’ve never really gotten a good handle on this forum and now with all the changes, I’m sort of back to square one.

Frankly, I agree. The forums keep getting less comfortable to use. I just got rid of the lag I was getting loading forum pages by blocking jsquery.js from loading, now this.

In addition to the comments by others in earlier posts, there is now an issue with the creation of links.

With the loss of html, one has to use “linktext” to create links. Using “linktext” produces a less than optimal URL as it makes no provision (at least none I know of) for adding a title attribute to the link. While this doesn’t invalidate the link in terms of markup, it’s poor practice as regards accessibility.

Last edited by NyteOwl (2006-10-23 23:52:37)


Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination. / 36-bits Forever! / #include <disclaimer.h>;

Offline

#11 2006-10-24 00:23:06

Mary
Sock Enthusiast
Registered: 2004-06-27
Posts: 6,236

Re: Code posting < & > changing

  • It was a decision made years ago, not one made by me.
  • HTML was never supposed to be available, it’s a very large security hole in a public forum.
  • Textile links have always accepted title attributes. "link (title)":url.

Offline

#12 2006-10-24 01:46:55

NyteOwl
Member
From: Nova Scotia, Canada
Registered: 2005-09-24
Posts: 539

Re: Code posting < & > changing

Mary wrote:

  • It was a decision made years ago, not one made by me.
  • HTML was never supposed to be available, it’s a very large security hole in a public forum.
  • Textile links have always accepted title attributes. "link (title)":url.

I can understand about the html not being available. I cannot understand not offering bbCode as an optional “markup” considering almost every forum on the net uses it (or has it available). It’s practically a standard for marking up forum posts.

Thanks for the info about the way to include a title using Textile. As I said, it’s not an intuitive editing system unless you are using it all time.


Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination. / 36-bits Forever! / #include <disclaimer.h>;

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB