Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2006-01-06 14:29:20

aanimo
New Member
Registered: 2006-01-06
Posts: 3

Conditional section?

Is there a way that I could show an excerpt of an article, or the body, based on what section the article belongs to? I searched the tags, but didn’t find any if_section=’” type of tag.

Thanks!

Offline

#2 2006-01-06 16:06:13

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: Conditional section?

Offline

#3 2006-01-06 16:29:48

KurtRaschke
Plugin Author
Registered: 2004-05-16
Posts: 275

Re: Conditional section?

I think <txp:if_article_section name=""> might be more applicable here.

-Kurt


kurt@kurtraschke.com

Offline

#4 2006-01-06 22:08:59

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: Conditional section?

KurtRaschke wrote:

I think <txp:if_article_section name=""> might be more applicable here

You’re right, I’m sorry. txp:if_article_section

Offline

#5 2006-01-06 22:14:58

aanimo
New Member
Registered: 2006-01-06
Posts: 3

Re: Conditional section?

Thanks!

Oddly, when I place this:

< txp:if_article_section name=“blog”>
< txp:article />
< txp:else />
< h3>< txp:title /> ·
< txp:permlink>Read Article< /txp:permlink>< /h3>
< /txp:if_article_section>

in a form, then when it is called it outputs the articles twice. Any idea why?

Last edited by aanimo (2006-01-06 22:16:21)

Offline

#6 2006-01-06 22:31:53

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: Conditional section?

txp:article is not for use in an article form, it should be used in the page template. Replace it in the form with what parts of the article you want to display, for instance
<code>
<txp:title />
<txp:body />
</code>

Offline

#7 2006-01-06 23:00:28

aanimo
New Member
Registered: 2006-01-06
Posts: 3

Re: Conditional section?

I knew that. . .argh. Sorry — totally slipped my mind

Last edited by aanimo (2006-01-06 23:00:44)

Offline

#8 2006-01-09 11:05:04

-P-
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2005-09-10
Posts: 211

Re: Conditional section?

I´m little confused about how to show same if_section content in multiple pages. I did look the manual but wasn´t able to get it work

so what I need to do is show in the sidebar form

<code><txp:if_section name=”“,about,faq,article>
<h3>Contact us</h3>
<p>…</p>
<txp:else />
</txp:if_section></code>

But don`t understand where should I add <code>”</code>

Offline

#9 2006-01-09 14:43:42

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: Conditional section?

P wrote:

But don`t understand where should I add <code>”</code>

I’m not sure if I understand what it is you want to do. If you want to include the default section, you use
<code>
<txp:if_section name=”,about,faq,article”>
</code>
If you don’t need to display anything if it’s not one of those four sections, you can leave out the <txp:else />.

Offline

#10 2006-01-09 15:03:40

-P-
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2005-09-10
Posts: 211

Re: Conditional section?

Thank you! Sometimes the obvious isn´t obvious. At least to me :D

Got totally confused when read the manual and there were these <code>name=“section name(,section name 2,…)” </code> so I tested zillion ways to put there<code>(</code> and <code>)</code> and <code>”</code>.

What I wanted to achieve here is to show in the sidebar “you can contact us…” in all the other pages except on the actual contact-page. Works now.

Offline

#11 2006-01-09 15:47:29

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: Conditional section?

To make it easier in case you should add sections in the future, you could also do this:
<code>
<txp:if_section name=“contact”>
<txp:else />
your content here
</txp:if_section>
</code>

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB