Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
Pages: 1
#1 2005-11-10 00:10:52
- bumblebeezus
- Member
- Registered: 2005-11-09
- Posts: 14
How do i turn off register globals...?
my diagnostic tells me…“Your version of PHP has security related risks. Please turn register_globals off or update to a newer PHP version.” do i call my ISP and have them do it from their end? or do i do it from my end? if i need to do it from my end, how do i do that? thanks for any and all resposes.
Offline
Re: How do i turn off register globals...?
If your host uses Apache you need to remove the comment (# hashmark) from this line in your .htaccess file:-
<code>#php_value register_globals 0</code>
<br />
If this throws a “500 server error” at you when you go to view your site you will need to put the hashmark back in and contact your host.
Last edited by thebombsite (2005-11-10 01:33:58)
Stuart
In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.
Offline
#3 2005-11-10 02:01:56
- zem
- Developer Emeritus
- From: Melbourne, Australia
- Registered: 2004-04-08
- Posts: 2,579
Offline
#4 2005-11-10 02:15:28
- bumblebeezus
- Member
- Registered: 2005-11-09
- Posts: 14
Re: How do i turn off register globals...?
thanks guys…i’ll be giving my prvider a call…8)
Offline
#5 2005-11-10 02:30:51
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: How do i turn off register globals...?
The register globals setting should be php_flag
not php_value
; its a boolean value.
Offline
Re: How do i turn off register globals...?
Well I’m not arguing with you at all Mary, I don’t think I could take the flack ;) , but it works as supplied for me.
Stuart
In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.
Offline
Re: How do i turn off register globals...?
My hosting provider has installed PHP as CGI, so I need to use a php.ini file to change the server configuration related to register_globals.
So, I created a php.ini file with <code>register_globals = Off</code> inside.
I found that, in my case, I need to upload the php.ini file to the /textpattern/ directory.
If I only upload php.ini to /public_html/ or to the root directory, I will receive the warning in the TXP diagnostic.
So, again, I need to upload it to the /textpattern/ directory to remove the warning in the diagnostics.
Is this secure?
Maybe, this information can be added to the FAQ.
Offline
Re: How do i turn off register globals...?
Usually the php.ini file will be outside of the publicly accessable directories. See for example how Textdrive handles this:
http://kb.textdrive.com/article/creating-your-own-phpini
Though this is host-specific and depends on where php is configured to look for configuration files.
Offline
Pages: 1