Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
#1 2005-08-29 09:16:50
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
[plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
Simple plugin but very nice to use.
Thanks!
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
Thanx Mary!
Offline
#4 2005-08-29 17:50:05
- jorn
- New Member
- Registered: 2005-08-29
- Posts: 7
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
Hello,
I want 2 clocks on my website.
Clock one displays time in Europe.
Clock two displays time in America.
Can anyone help me out?
Thanks
Offline
#5 2005-08-29 18:47:28
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
Which timezone is your Txp admin set to, the Europe or American one?
Offline
#6 2005-08-29 18:50:41
- jorn
- New Member
- Registered: 2005-08-29
- Posts: 7
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
the european one
Offline
#7 2005-08-29 19:15:06
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
Okay, then we make up some PHP for the American clock.
- Find the difference in hours between the server’s time and the timezone you want.
- Create the PHP
- Put it in your page (or form).
As an example, if my server was in GMT-05:00, but I lived in GMT-7:00 and wanted to have the clock reflect where I am, the difference is -2 hours (we take away two hours from -7 to get -5).
$hours = number of hours difference
$format = the string format to use
<txp:php>
$hours = -2;
global $dateformat;
echo safe_strftime($dateformat, time() + ($hours * 3600));
</txp:php>
Does that make any sense?
(Edit: updated to supply correct code for any passers-by.)
Last edited by Mary (2005-08-30 21:56:53)
Offline
#8 2005-08-29 19:21:05
- jorn
- New Member
- Registered: 2005-08-29
- Posts: 7
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
i don’t know if it makes sense i put youre line of code in my pagetemplate and its reaction was ’01/01/70’? this is the website im working on www.jornjorn.com
hopefully you can help me out…
Offline
#9 2005-08-29 19:37:56
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
Whoops, sorry ‘bout that. Once more? :)
Last edited by Mary (2005-08-30 20:01:57)
Offline
#10 2005-08-29 23:48:54
- jorn
- New Member
- Registered: 2005-08-29
- Posts: 7
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
sorry it is still not working im really new to textpattern and php so… now my code says:
<p>Netherlands</p><txp:upm_datetime />
<p>United states</p><txp:php>$hours = GMT-6; global $dateformat; echo safe_strftime($dateformat, time() + $hours);</txp:php>
and it still is not working. what am i doing wrong?
tanx
Offline
#11 2005-08-30 20:01:37
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
screams Stupid Textile ate my code and I didn’t realize that. Sorry.
code
See, it needs the php tag?
Last edited by Mary (2005-08-30 21:57:26)
Offline
#12 2005-08-30 20:49:05
- jorn
- New Member
- Registered: 2005-08-29
- Posts: 7
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_datetime: Display current date/time.
So, i paste your code in my page template.. But the time is still the same as the server time. Any idea what i’m doing wrong? Check the site www.jornjorn.com
Offline