Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
thanks, rob. the new version fixed my problem. yeah!
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
Thanks Rob. :)
Stuart
In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
getting some validation errors with this plugin:
<code>236, column 10: document type does not allow element “label” here; missing one of “p”, “h1”, “h2”, “h3”, “h4”, “h5”, “h6”, “div”, “pre”, “address”, “fieldset”, “ins”, “del” start-tag
<label><input id=“livesearch” name=“q” onkeypress=“liveSearchStart()” size=”
</code>
&
<code>
Line 236, column 99: document type does not allow element “br” here; missing one of “p”, “h1”, “h2”, “h3”, “h4”, “h5”, “h6”, “div”, “pre”, “address”, “fieldset”, “ins”, “del” start-tag
…rchStart()” size=“20” /></label><br/>
</code>
I fixed by replaced br with p tags instead. The following two I don’t know how to fix:
<code>
Line 235, column 30: there is no attribute “name”
<p><form id=“searchform” name=“searchform” method=“get”
</code>
&
<code>
Line 235, column 123: document type does not allow element “form” here; missing one of “object”, “ins”, “del”, “map” start-tag
… onsubmit=“return liveSearchSubmit()”>
</code>
Additonally I got that same error message during the install though I haven’t paid much notice to it as the plugin “seems” to be working. THanks for the work Rob, now I jut hope someone can help me fix the errors so I can get it to validate at least to 1.0 Strict
Last edited by sekhu (2005-06-10 23:10:53)
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
Wow, something weird just happened. I was enhancing my site and such, and all of a sudden the search box disappears.
Here is my TXP code:
<blockquote><pre><txp:rss_live_search inputvalue=“type here to search” autocompleteoff=“1” showdate=“1” inputsize=”“ /></pre></blockquote>
And here is the HTML produced:
<blockquote><pre><form id=“searchform” name=“searchform” method=“get” action=“http://www.midrasha.com/” onsubmit=“return liveSearchSubmit()”>
<label>LiveSearch:
<input id=“livesearch” name=“q” value=“type here to search” onkeypress=“liveSearchStart()”
size=”“ onblur=“if (this.value '') {this.value = 'type here to search';}"
onfocus="if (this.value ‘type here to search’) {this.value = ‘’;}” autocomplete=“off” /></label><br/>
<div id=“LSResult” style=“display: none;”><div id=“LSShadow”></div></div>
</form></pre>
</blockquote>
What could be the problem?
Last edited by blumie607 (2005-06-12 05:28:39)
bludrop studios .::. Creative Expression
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
This is really weird. I have no idea where the search box went. Can anybody help??
bludrop studios .::. Creative Expression
Offline
#30 2005-06-20 08:45:29
- roelof
- Member
- Registered: 2005-03-27
- Posts: 647
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
Hello,
Im using this plugin on my site: http://msk.knoal.nl/index.php?s=search
But if a look at this page everything looks allright but at the moment i submit a letter i get a “error on this page”. I use messy url’s.
How can i get this plugin work good.
Roelof
Offline
#31 2005-06-26 16:17:36
- els
- Moderator
- From: The Netherlands
- Registered: 2004-06-06
- Posts: 7,458
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
In earlier posts some mentioned that they got a copy of the entire page in the popup when entering a search term. Only now I discovered that this is happening to me too, but only when & or # is entered.
I don’t think that this will happen very often, so it’s not really an urgent problem, just thought I’d mention it. I’m using version 0.2.2.
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
This is freakin awesome… at first I was skeptical as to its usefulness, but now I’m hooked… I just want to keep typing in random things!
doggiez: I’m not seeing that happen on my site… but it sure does on yours! also… just a note, but you might want to relatively position #LSResult down about 20 pixels so that the user searching can see what they are typing.
Offline
#33 2005-06-26 18:37:21
- els
- Moderator
- From: The Netherlands
- Registered: 2004-06-06
- Posts: 7,458
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
Thank you, Paul, I changed the positioning.
I’ve done some research:
As said, when I enter & or # on my site, the whole page pops up (in Firefox 1.0.4 and in Opera 8.01, not in IE6.)
Exactly the same thing happens when I do this on blog.paularms.com.
It does not happen on wilshireone.com. Oh, it does, I didn’t wait long enough.
Now if someone can figure this out? I don’t think I can… So it must be something browser related? Then again, not entirely, since Paul can see it happening on my site, but not on his…
Edit: screenshot (Edit again: link removed)
Last edited by doggiez (2005-11-13 19:11:54)
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
doggiez: I can only reproduce this when typing # or & as the first character, but when you type one of them after that, it sometimes stops the javascript from updating the results (I think).
So, it is happening on my site, I just wasn’t entering them at the right time.
I don’t see this to ever be a problem… why would anyone type an ampersand or a pound sign as the first character in a search string?
Offline
#35 2005-06-26 20:16:09
- els
- Moderator
- From: The Netherlands
- Registered: 2004-06-06
- Posts: 7,458
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
> paularms wrote:
> why would anyone type an ampersand or a pound sign as the first character in a search string?
You’re right, it’s not really a problem, just intriguing. I only found out because I wanted to search for ampersands in urls in my articles… don’t think anyone else would ever want to do that :)
Offline
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search
I guess no one else is having the problem of the search box not appear. Well, if it helps anyone to try to “debug”, here is the code that is supposed to produce the search input box:
<blockquote><code><input id=“livesearch” name=“q” value=“type here to search” onkeypress=“liveSearchStart()”
size=“10” onblur=“if (this.value '') {this.value = 'type here to search';}"
onfocus="if (this.value ‘type here to search’) {this.value = ‘’;}” autocomplete=“off” /></code></blockquote>
bludrop studios .::. Creative Expression
Offline