Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#61 2004-12-21 14:36:01

wilshire
Plugin Author
From: Akron, Ohio
Registered: 2004-08-27
Posts: 656
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

EGO

1) You have some CSS (<code>.links A:link { color: #333; text-decoration: none; }</code>) that is removing the underline. If you remove the text-decoration you will have an underline.

2) It should be possible by putting a background-image on the <code><dd></code> tag.

mistersugar

1) Looks like I lost a “u” somewhere along the way. Find the line (~31) that reads
<code>
$subdateformat = isset($sbdateformat) ? $subdateformat : “d”;
</code>

and add the missing “u” in the 2nd subdateformat. I’ll fix this the next time I release a new version.

2) Honestly, I couldn’t really tell you why I chose to do that. But as far as styling goes, they shouldn’t behave that differently. You could even define styles and use them for both like this:
<code>
dd, li { blah: blah; }
</code>

If you define your own padding and margins you can make them look exactly the same.

Hope that helps you both.

Last edited by wilshire (2004-12-21 14:44:30)

Offline

#62 2004-12-22 12:25:10

And
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 10
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

I’m trying to setup an archive page that only displays specific category entries when that category link is clicked.

I’m currently using mdm_if_category to provide text specific to each category list, but because I’m therefore “browsing in” that particular category, rss_suparchive is displaying all entries and not entries specific to that category. This is the code that I’m using:

<code>
<txp:mdm_if_category category=“Audio”>
<h2>Audio</h2>
<p>A list of articles posted to Audio. If you prefer, you can view the articles by <a href=”/date_list/”>date</a>.</p>
<txp:rss_suparchive category=“Audio” dateformat=“F Y” showsubdate=“1” addbreak=“1” />
</txp:mdm_if_category>
</code>

Is there any way I can bypass the default “global” category so that it only displays those category specific entries?

Offline

#63 2004-12-22 14:20:41

wilshire
Plugin Author
From: Akron, Ohio
Registered: 2004-08-27
Posts: 656
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

And

You’re not doing anything wrong. In fact it seems to be a problem with the code. I’m just a php hack so I don’t know if its even possible but I was trying to use nested tertiary operators and that was causing the problem. To fix it, find this line near the top:
<code>
$category = isset($category) ? doSlash($category) : isset($nocatfilter) ? “” : $c ;
</code>

and replace it with
<code>
if (isset($category)) {
$category = doSlash($category);
} else {
$category = isset($nocatfilter) ? “” : $c ;
}
</code>

And if anyone can recommend a cleaner way of coding this I’d appreciate it.

Offline

#64 2004-12-22 15:09:36

And
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 10
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

Wilshire – you are a star! thank you and a happy whatever to you sir.

Offline

#65 2004-12-29 11:47:34

Flashpix
Plugin Author
From: Cologne/Germany
Registered: 2004-04-11
Posts: 19
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

I just wanted to say thanks for this great plugin. This is exactly the type of archive i always wanted to have on my site. I had to hack the plugin code a little bit to get it to work with my hacked txp version, but that was no problem, and the plugin works perfectly.

Muchos Gracias for this :-)

Offline

#66 2005-01-08 19:35:53

paularms
Member
From: University of Minnesota
Registered: 2004-10-21
Posts: 155
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

rss_suparchive doesn’t seem to call any form for me.

< txp:rss_suparchive section=“photos” category=“photos” form=“default” limit=“1000” />

It just uses the default output code that is in the plugin. What did I do wrong?

Last edited by paularms (2005-01-08 19:38:50)

Offline

#67 2005-01-09 22:06:15

paularms
Member
From: University of Minnesota
Registered: 2004-10-21
Posts: 155
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

does anyone have any idea what’s wrong with the plugin that it won’t output forms for me?

Offline

#68 2005-01-09 22:46:34

wilshire
Plugin Author
From: Akron, Ohio
Registered: 2004-08-27
Posts: 656
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

Nothing looks wrong to me (I assume the space in the tag was just added for posting on punBB). If you look at the forms example you’ve pretty much got exactly the same thing that I’m showing.

Are you using the latest version (0.8)?

Offline

#69 2005-01-09 22:59:29

paularms
Member
From: University of Minnesota
Registered: 2004-10-21
Posts: 155
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

Yep, the space was for punBB, and yes, version 0.8 on TXP version 1.0rc1

Last edited by paularms (2005-01-09 22:59:57)

Offline

#70 2005-01-09 23:09:06

wilshire
Plugin Author
From: Akron, Ohio
Registered: 2004-08-27
Posts: 656
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

I’m not sure what to tell you because I’m not having a problem doing the exact thing you’re trying to do.

I think I remember seeing a post that you made some mods to the plugin code. Is that still the case?

Offline

#71 2005-01-09 23:37:17

paularms
Member
From: University of Minnesota
Registered: 2004-10-21
Posts: 155
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

The only changes that I made were to the by_cat function, not the regular function.

Offline

#72 2005-01-10 02:03:49

wilshire
Plugin Author
From: Akron, Ohio
Registered: 2004-08-27
Posts: 656
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_suparchive - article archive list

Are you using both the suparchive and suparchive_bycat on the same page? Then only thing I can think is maybe there’s something conflicting.

Can you try to put just the suparchive tag on its own page and see if it displays the form?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB