Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
Pages: 1
#1 2004-08-11 20:35:50
- jeeves
- Member
- Registered: 2004-06-14
- Posts: 31
Getting mdm_if_category to work
This is an incredibly useful plugin, I just have not been able to figure out how to get it to work for me. <strong>When I wrap something with this tag Texpattern does not output anything at all.</strong>
Here is how I am using it:
<code>
<txp:mdm_if_category category=“Alpha”>
<txp:article form=“faq_article” listform=“faq_list” limit=“100” />
</txp:mdm_if_category>
</code>
Now I verified that I have articles assigned to the <strong>category=“Alpha”</strong> and to the section I am displaying. Yet Textpattern is not displaying anything.
Is there something I am missing here? Is there something I forget to do to make <strong>mdm_if_category</strong> work?
Offline
Re: Getting mdm_if_category to work
Look in your Plugins tab – Is it “activated” ?
Offline
#3 2004-08-11 22:06:40
- jeeves
- Member
- Registered: 2004-06-14
- Posts: 31
Re: Getting mdm_if_category to work
I checked. “mdm_if_category” is definitely set to “yes” in the Active column.
Last edited by jeeves (2004-08-11 22:13:49)
Offline
Re: Getting mdm_if_category to work
is your URL pointing to the Alpha category?
http://www.domain.com/section/?c=Alpha
Listen to Kenneth
Offline
#5 2004-08-12 03:51:10
- jeeves
- Member
- Registered: 2004-06-14
- Posts: 31
Re: Getting mdm_if_category to work
No such luck. I made sure “?c=Alpha” was at the end of the address, and it still does not work.
Offline
Re: Getting mdm_if_category to work
where are you using it? form? template? (heaven-forbid) article?
it should, of course, be in one of the first two.
Last edited by kennethlove666 (2004-08-12 18:26:02)
Listen to Kenneth
Offline
Re: Getting mdm_if_category to work
is there something like this that could be used in an article form?
textpattern.org :: find and share Textpattern resources
docs.textpattern.io :: Textpattern user documentation
Offline
Re: Getting mdm_if_category to work
I am running into similar problems
I am using it from a form
Each article uses a ‘page’ called ‘archive’.
An ‘archive’ page has the following:
<code><txp:article form=“Single” /></code>
The ‘Single’ form has the following:
<code>
<txp:permlink><txp:title /></txp:permlink>
<txp:posted /><txp:category1 />
<txp:mdm_if_category category=“books”>
category works
</txp:mdm_if_category>
<txp:body />
</code>
When I visit say <code>http://localhost/article/28/this-is-an-article</code>, I don’t see the ‘category works’ message. But if I visit <code>http://localhost/article/28/this-is-an-article?c=books</code>, the ‘category works’ message is displayed. In both cases <code><txp:category1 /></code> displays the expected output.
What am I doing wrong?
My intention is to have a few <code><txp:mdm_if_category></code> checks in the ‘Single’ form, and display customised content depending on the current category that the article belongs to.
TIA
Last edited by nishark (2004-11-21 04:09:30)
Offline
Re: Getting mdm_if_category to work
ok, I got this to work by changing the plugin a bit.
I changed line 11 of the mdm_if_category plugin from
<code>
$curr_cat = gps(“c”);
</code>
to
<code>
$curr_cat = parse(“<txp:category1 />”);
</code>
Offline
Pages: 1