Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#37 2016-10-13 03:25:11

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 1,801
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

miles wrote #302149:

Also loving the article duplication feature!

?? what is it? how do you use it.


…. texted postive

Offline

#38 2016-10-13 03:58:01

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,268
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

bici wrote #302151:

?? what is it? how do you use it.

On the articles list panel, select one or more articles, then use the multi-edit widget to duplicate
Or
Open an article for editing, then on the right hand, below the save button there is a button to duplicate


Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#39 2016-10-13 07:50:59

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,090
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

bici wrote #302151:

[Duplicate] ?? what is it? how do you use it.

To further expand on what phiw13 said, when editing an article you can approach the duplication in one of two ways:

  1. Immediately hit Duplicate and get a clone of what you have on-screen.
  2. Make changes to the article first without saving it, then hit Duplicate which will create a new article from what you have on-screen at that moment.

In both cases, this happens:

  • The article is set to Draft mode. Because you don’t want it immediately published, right?
  • The article Posted date remains the same as the original article (unless you alter it of course or use the ‘reset to now’ feature), but the Modified date is set to the time you hit the button.
  • The article ID is appended, in parentheses, to whatever title you set. This makes it easy to spot duplicates in the article list and also gets around the issue of unique article URLs. You should change the title and url-title prior to publication.

For Forms, Pages and Stylesheets, the duplication feature works in a similar manner with a few notable differences:

  • Exactly like with Articles, you can make a perfect clone, or edit the item first without saving and then clone it. Whatever is on-screen at the time you hit the button, is what will appear in your new item.
  • If you duplicate an item without altering its name, you get ‘copy’ and ‘copy 2’, etc appended to its name.
  • If you alter the name prior to hitting Duplicate you will not get ‘copy’, ‘copy 2’ appended, unless the name you chose clashes with another item. In other words, the clone gets the new name you specified, as far as is practically possible.

Hope that helps.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#40 2016-10-13 12:59:24

uli
Moderator
From: Cologne
Registered: 2006-08-15
Posts: 4,236

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

That gives an excellent blog post for textpattern.com.


In bad weather I never leave home without wet_plugout, smd_where_used and adi_form_links

Offline

#41 2016-10-13 13:42:58

Destry
Member
From: Haut-Rhin
Registered: 2004-08-04
Posts: 4,710
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

Also probably needs to go in the appropriate doc pages where that function is encountered. I made an Issue reminder.

Offline

#42 2016-10-13 18:36:35

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 1,801
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

Thanks Bloke and others That was very helpfu!! It would be good to have it in the Docs.

Last edited by bici (2016-10-14 06:47:26)


…. texted postive

Offline

#43 2016-10-14 14:38:27

NicolasGraph
Plugin Author
From: France
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 860
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

@philwareham, would it be possible to correct or just set the label/input alignment for color inputs? I use different input types in the oui_player prefs and this one does not look good. Thanks!


Nicolas
Follow me on Twitter and GitHub!
Multiple edits are usually to correct my frenglish…

Offline

#44 2016-10-14 15:03:27

philwareham
Core designer
From: Haslemere, Surrey, UK
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 3,476
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

NicolasGraph wrote #302183:

@philwareham, would it be possible to correct or just set the label/input alignment for color inputs? I use different input types in the oui_player prefs and this one does not look good. Thanks!

Do you mean for?…

<input type="color">

Offline

#45 2016-10-14 15:05:10

NicolasGraph
Plugin Author
From: France
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 860
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

philwareham wrote #302185:

Do you mean for?…

<input type="color">...

That’s what I mean, yes.


Nicolas
Follow me on Twitter and GitHub!
Multiple edits are usually to correct my frenglish…

Offline

#46 2016-10-14 15:27:55

philwareham
Core designer
From: Haslemere, Surrey, UK
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 3,476
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

That input type is a bit erratic right now, due to different rendering in different browsers – I’ll do what I can but it won’t be perfected aligned in different browsers (and isn’t supported in all browsers).

Offline

#47 2016-10-14 15:36:01

philwareham
Core designer
From: Haslemere, Surrey, UK
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 3,476
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

OK, I’ve updated 4.6.2 and dev branches as best I can given current state of type=color support. Let me know if that is OK for you.

Offline

#48 2016-10-14 20:21:43

NicolasGraph
Plugin Author
From: France
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 860
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.6.1 released

philwareham wrote #302190:

OK, I’ve updated 4.6.2 and dev branches as best I can given current state of type=color support. Let me know if that is OK for you.

Unfortunately that is not, but [type="color"] { vertical-align: middle; } works. Tested in FF, Safari and Chrome.

Last edited by NicolasGraph (2016-10-14 20:24:59)


Nicolas
Follow me on Twitter and GitHub!
Multiple edits are usually to correct my frenglish…

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB