Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#61 2014-09-26 12:22:08

GugUser
Member
From: Quito (Ecuador)
Registered: 2007-12-16
Posts: 1,469

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

philwareham wrote #284225:

I doubt it was a DoS, we use about 1% capacity of our server most of the time.

My affected sites still show the same message and it takes forever until the diagnosis is shown.

Offline

#62 2014-09-26 14:49:23

johnstephens
Plugin Author
From: Woodbridge, VA
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 997
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

I had the same Language panel message on all the sites I upgraded so far, but it was temporary. In all cases I was able to reload the panel and update the language within 20 or 30 minutes, and I haven’t had any trouble loading the Diagnostics panel.

Can anyone confirm that this upgrade works fine on a site that runs MLP?

Offline

#63 2014-09-26 17:15:06

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 1,936
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

etc wrote #284216:

Back to OP: the update went smooth, save for There is a problem trying to connect to the RPC server. Please, try again later.

my issue went away after 24 hrs.


…. texted postive

Offline

#64 2014-09-27 13:08:20

gaekwad
Server grease monkey
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 3,873
GitHub

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

I have a few more production sites to upgrade over the coming week – is there anything I can enable debugging-wise that might help pinpoint the RPC issue? I’ve not had it on previous upgrades, so it’s not guaranteed to happen, but it’s worth a shot.

Offline

#65 2014-09-27 18:18:18

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 1,936
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

gaekwad wrote #284265:

I have a few more production sites to upgrade over the coming week – is there anything I can enable debugging-wise that might help pinpoint the RPC issue? I’ve not had it on previous upgrades, so it’s not guaranteed to happen, but it’s worth a shot.

IF it helps any… i updated about 6 sites. only one had the RPC issue. And that one RPC issue resolved itself in about 36 hours.

But the mystery is why. all sites were on the same server.


…. texted postive

Offline

#66 2014-09-28 07:37:16

kuopassa
Plugin Author
From: Porvoo, Finland
Registered: 2008-12-03
Posts: 218
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

I’ve got a tiny issue with Textile. This has been bugging me at least since 4.5.5. Text which is written like this is not formatted like it should be:

_Vancouver_-based bici has an avatar.

So the problem is with the word Vancouver. It’s not being wrapped with em but left with underscores.

Offline

#67 2014-09-28 09:06:13

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,858
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

I see what you are saying. Although not grammatically correct, you could add spaces around the dash:)

Vancouver – based bici has an avatar.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | EMAP | NeMe @ github
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#68 2014-09-28 09:43:19

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,720
Website GitHub

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

kuopassa wrote #284272:

the word Vancouver. It’s not being wrapped with em but left with underscores.

How about delineating the bit you want formatting with curly braces, like this:

{_Vancouver_}-based bici has an avatar.

The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#69 2014-09-28 10:32:55

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,858
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

Hey Stef,

I’m impressed!!! I did not know about the curly braces trick.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | EMAP | NeMe @ github
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#70 2014-09-28 19:24:43

gaekwad
Server grease monkey
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 3,873
GitHub

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

Bloke wrote #284277:

How about delineating the bit you want formatting with curly braces […]

I’m with Yiannis – that’s new to me today, too. Thanks for the tip!

Offline

#71 2014-09-29 01:00:24

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,656
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

Stef, nice trick indeed! But unfortunately, it does fail when adding additional formatting (like kuopassa did) :-(

Code:

*{_Vancouver_}-based bici has an avatar.*

result:
-based bici has an avatar.

You get: <strong style="_Vancouver_;">


Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#72 2014-09-29 02:52:53

GugUser
Member
From: Quito (Ecuador)
Registered: 2007-12-16
Posts: 1,469

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.5.7 released

The only solution I can find is not very beautiful in the HTML:

{*_Vancouver_*}{*-based bici has an avatar.*} or [*_Vancouver_*][*-based bici has an avatar.*]

HTML

<p><strong><em>Vancouver</em></strong><strong>-based bici has an avatar.</strong></p>

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB