Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
Pages: 1
#1 2013-08-24 14:00:25
- dewyatt
- New Member
- Registered: 2013-08-20
- Posts: 7
[textile] Keep line breaks
I’m using TXP 4.5.4 w/Textile and I have some articles where I need some line breaks preserved.
Simple example:
notextile.. <![CDATA[
1
2
3
4
]]>
The output I get is:
<![CDATA[
1
2
3
4
]]>
I would expect the notextile bit to indicate “don’t mess with my data!”. Am I doing something wrong or is this more or less a bug?
Offline
Re: [textile] Keep line breaks
I guess it depends what you need to d. Do you want to include a jacascript or present code in the front end?
Yiannis
——————————
NeMe | hblack.art | EMAP | A Sea change | Toolkit of Care
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.
Offline
#3 2013-08-24 14:16:34
- dewyatt
- New Member
- Registered: 2013-08-20
- Posts: 7
Re: [textile] Keep line breaks
colak wrote:
I guess it depends what you need to d. Do you want to include a jacascript or present code in the front end?
I use javascript (SyntaxHighlighter), to present code to the user:
notextile.. <script type="syntaxhighlighter" class="brush:c; toolbar: false">
<![CDATA[
//code here
]]></script>
Is there any way to get this to work?
Last edited by dewyatt (2013-08-24 14:24:39)
Offline
Re: [textile] Keep line breaks
dewyatt wrote:
Am I doing something wrong or is this more or less a bug?
This seems to be unwanted behavior, and is reproducible on the latest Textile version. Could you open a new issue on Textile’s issue tracker?
The issue seems to originate from where blocks are shelved. There should be linefeed, I suppose.
Is there any way to get this to work?
You could use the same pre.
tag you just used. You probably can bind SyntaxHighlighter’s languages to some valid classes, opposed to their semicolon syntax. If not, there are other options such as Prism.js or Google Code Prettify.
Last edited by Gocom (2013-08-24 14:35:06)
Offline
Re: [textile] Keep line breaks
A weird etc_query
way (remove whitespace in front of pre..
and notextile.
):
notextile. <script type="syntaxhighlighter" class="brush:c; toolbar: false">
<txp:etc_query data="
pre..
1
2
3
4
notextile. "><![CDATA[{//text()}]]></txp:etc_query>
</script>
Offline
#6 2013-08-24 14:44:06
- dewyatt
- New Member
- Registered: 2013-08-20
- Posts: 7
Re: [textile] Keep line breaks
Gocom wrote:
This seems to be unwanted behavior, and is reproducible on the latest Textile version. Could you open a new issue on Textile’s issue tracker?
You could use the same
pre.
tag you just used. You probably can bind SyntaxHighlighter’s languages to some valid classes, opposed to their semicolon syntax. If not, there are other options such as Prism.js or Google Code Prettify.
Thanks, I’ll look into this. I tried prism first actually and found something to be a deal breaker, can’t remember what. I might have to reconsider.
Offline
#7 2013-08-24 15:29:00
- dewyatt
- New Member
- Registered: 2013-08-20
- Posts: 7
Re: [textile] Keep line breaks
I ended up switching to prism.js and using something like:
bc(language-cpp line-numbers).. some_file.cpp
#include <string>
int main ( int argc, char *argv[] ) {
//...
}
Much simpler! I can’t recall why I decided not to use prism.js before but hopefully it works out.
Offline
Pages: 1