Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#13 2012-04-11 06:42:42

philwareham
Core designer
From: Haslemere, Surrey, UK
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 3,524
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: Additional wrapper around listings tables ?

Regarding images – a simpler solution would be to get the width and height attributes removed from images in the system and let the browser size them. We can then use the max-width rule method.

Offline

#14 2012-04-11 06:50:34

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,387
Website

Re: Additional wrapper around listings tables ?

philwareham wrote:

Regarding images – a simpler solution would be to get the width and height attributes removed from images in the system and let the browser size them. We can then use the max-width rule method.

No, that won’t help due to the image being wrapped inside a table with table-layout:auto.

2 test cases (view source…), compare WebKit vs Gecko or IE
http://dev.l-c-n.com/_temp/w_image.html
http://dev.l-c-n.com/_temp/w_image2.html


Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#15 2012-04-11 08:51:07

Gocom
Plugin Author
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 4,533
Website

Re: Additional wrapper around listings tables ?

philwareham wrote:

Regarding images – a simpler solution would be to get the width and height attributes removed from images in the system and let the browser size them.

I’m throwing my big no card on this. User-experience, remember the user-experience.

The only thing removing the width and height from the images will do is jagged loading. Love me some jumping content when the browser finds out the image sizes one by one, instead of knowing them from get go. That is unless we want to make the page preloaded. Oh yeah, that’s why large, cheesy badly coded applets suck. And then there is the second option of making the sizes hard-coded and clipping/scaling the images to a grid.

Offline

#16 2012-04-11 09:51:50

philwareham
Core designer
From: Haslemere, Surrey, UK
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 3,524
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: Additional wrapper around listings tables ?

Gocom wrote:

The only thing removing the width and height from the images will do is jagged loading.

Yeah, it was a compromised solution at best.

Offline

#17 2012-04-19 08:19:03

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,387
Website

Re: Additional wrapper around listings tables ?

phiw13 wrote:

Fwiw, for ease of tracking, I’ve filed this as issue 167.

Stef checked my patch in rev3748.

There is now a class="txp-listtables" for this specific purpose.


Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#18 2012-04-19 10:15:08

philwareham
Core designer
From: Haslemere, Surrey, UK
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 3,524
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: Additional wrapper around listings tables ?

Hi Stef, you seem to have missed the table on the plugins page? No div wrapper on that one at the moment.

Offline

#19 2012-04-19 12:41:11

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,387
Website

Re: Additional wrapper around listings tables ?

Uh, that is weird. I edited that file, why didn’t svn diff pick it up ?

I’ll generate a patch later and attach it to issue 167.


Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#20 2012-04-28 02:43:03

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,387
Website

Re: Additional wrapper around listings tables ?

phiw13 wrote:

Uh, that is weird. I edited that file, why didn’t svn diff pick it up ?

I’ll generate a patch later and attach it to issue 167.

Bloke, ping ? Can you check that additional patch in ?

Last edited by phiw13 (2012-04-28 02:43:25)


Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB