Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2011-03-11 18:19:59

kstewart
Member
Registered: 2011-03-09
Posts: 71
Website

Two columns... that's all!

Hi there,

Feel slightly silly posting this but am new to textpattern and simply cannot work out how to arrange two columns! I’ve got text and an image on the left side and a blog widget on the right.

I’ve tried forms, pages, etc… with corresponding sections but nothing works… (see here http://www.kimstewart.co.uk/textpattern-4.3.0/ )

article:
<div id=“blog_right”>
<txp:article_custom section=“blog_right” />

page template:
<txp:article_custom section=“home_left” float: left; />
<txp:article_custom section=“blog_right” float: right; />

I feel like I’m missing something really obvious… want it to look like my homepage here www.kimstewart.co.uk

Any help much appreciated!


www.kimstewart.co.uk

Offline

#2 2011-03-11 19:18:52

uli
Moderator
From: Cologne
Registered: 2006-08-15
Posts: 4,302

Re: Two columns... that's all!

Two flaws I could spot quickly:

  • You’re using curly quotes for the sections in your tags (I see these in your source code, not in your post), thus the tags wouldn’t know where to look for articles. The quotes are probably also the reason why the tags are output into the code without being parsed at all.
  • Styles don’t belong into tags. If you need style, use classes or HTML ids where they can be applied (article_custom will put a class into the wraptag).

Bookmark and read the Tag Reference

Last edited by uli (2011-03-11 19:19:58)


In bad weather I never leave home without wet_plugout, smd_where_used and adi_form_links

Offline

#3 2011-03-11 19:38:15

kstewart
Member
Registered: 2011-03-09
Posts: 71
Website

Re: Two columns... that's all!

WOW! Thanks so much for your help! Created forms and it’s working now… though my blog’s not floating right like I wanted… any ideas? http://www.kimstewart.co.uk/textpattern-4.3.0/


www.kimstewart.co.uk

Offline

#4 2011-03-11 20:05:07

uli
Moderator
From: Cologne
Registered: 2006-08-15
Posts: 4,302

Re: Two columns... that's all!

kstewart wrote:

any ideas?

Neither of the divs concerned (#home_left, #blog_right) is mentioned in your css :)


In bad weather I never leave home without wet_plugout, smd_where_used and adi_form_links

Offline

#5 2011-03-11 20:09:43

kstewart
Member
Registered: 2011-03-09
Posts: 71
Website

Re: Two columns... that's all!

mmm… I put this in my css:

<txp:output_form form=“home_left” />
<txp:output_form form=“blog_right” />

Slightly confused as to where to put what even after looking through all the tutorials and info… Just not getting my head round it right away.

Should I have something like this:

<div class=“home_left”>
<txp:output_form form=“home_left” />

<txp:output_form form=“blog_right” />
<txp:output_form form=“blog_right” />

Totally love all the support for texpattern! Much appreciated!


www.kimstewart.co.uk

Offline

#6 2011-03-11 20:14:45

uli
Moderator
From: Cologne
Registered: 2006-08-15
Posts: 4,302

Re: Two columns... that's all!

The page you linked to gets its CSS from Admin > Presentation > CSS > Default. For the beginning put a

#home_left {float: left;} 

at the bottom of the textarea and press “save”.

(Ha, that post fired a little premature ;) And had the wrong adjustment.

Last edited by uli (2011-03-11 20:17:41)


In bad weather I never leave home without wet_plugout, smd_where_used and adi_form_links

Offline

#7 2011-03-11 20:29:04

kstewart
Member
Registered: 2011-03-09
Posts: 71
Website

Re: Two columns... that's all!

Works now!!! Thank you!

ps any idea how to get rid of the comma that keeps appearing at the bottom of my articles for some reason?


www.kimstewart.co.uk

Offline

#8 2011-03-11 20:33:04

maverick
Member
From: Southeastern Michigan, USA
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 976
Website

Re: Two columns... that's all!

Double check your page and forms for a stray comma. Sometimes they can also hide in-between a couple of txp tags that have no data to output.

Offline

#9 2011-03-11 20:35:23

uli
Moderator
From: Cologne
Registered: 2006-08-15
Posts: 4,302

Re: Two columns... that's all!

Get a copy of smd_where_used (link in my signature), install and activate. Then go to Admin > Extensions and search for “tags”. To get rid of the divider search for “divider”.

Very helpful in case your Browser is Firefox: Firebug.


In bad weather I never leave home without wet_plugout, smd_where_used and adi_form_links

Offline

#10 2011-03-11 20:50:18

kstewart
Member
Registered: 2011-03-09
Posts: 71
Website

Re: Two columns... that's all!

Thanks. I’ve got that plugin already for previous issues! Ha! Will double check all forms and page. (It’s cuz I copied a template and changed it all a bit) I know how to change the line and liked it when there was just one but don’t really like the one under the blog widget so may just delete it completely if I remember where I saw it in the css!

Thanks again for all your help.


www.kimstewart.co.uk

Offline

#11 2011-03-11 21:07:10

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: Two columns... that's all!

kstewart wrote:

ps any idea how to get rid of the comma that keeps appearing at the bottom of my articles for some reason?

Check the article form ‘default’, my guess is this:

<p class="tags"><txp:category1 title="1" link="1" />, <txp:category2 title="1" link="1" /></p>

Offline

#12 2011-03-11 21:07:48

kstewart
Member
Registered: 2011-03-09
Posts: 71
Website

Re: Two columns... that's all!

Yeah! Found it! Little rogue comma in the default form. Searched everywhere and didn’t think to look there as I didn’t change anything from the tutorial I copied! Can’t believe something so little took so long to fix! Haha!

Cheers for all your help! Have a good weekend.


www.kimstewart.co.uk

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB