Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
[archived] kis_sectionmenu
Notice: This thread is archived, there is a native txp tag now <txp:section_list />
**********************************************************
Hi!
I have released a new plugin called kis_sectionmenu
kis_sectionmenu is designed to display a custom menu to the sections on your site. It takes as arguments a comma-separated list with the section names, the enclosing tag and a link separation tag.
Example:
<code>
<txp:kis_sectionmenu section=“item1,item2,item3” wraptag=“ul” break=“li”/>
</code>
Output:
<code>
<div id=“menu”>
<ul>
<li><a href=”/item1” title=“item1”>item1</a></li>
<li><a href=”/item2” title=“item2”>item2</a></li>
<li><a href=”/item3” title=“item3”>item3</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
</code>
Further styling can be easily done via css. Sample CSS to display a horizontal menu is included.
UPDATE: Sections with spaces in them should work now.
http://www.kissmedia.ro/tplugins/kis_sectionmenu.zip
Last edited by alexbighea (2004-09-21 07:22:19)
http://www.kissmedia.ro/blog
Offline
#2 2004-09-21 04:52:32
- Vitruvius
- Plugin Author
- Registered: 2004-09-21
- Posts: 125
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
Nice work!
However I have noticed that it does not work when section titles have spaces in them.
The correct link for a section titled:
“About us”
will be
/About+us
I have no idea how to modify your code to produce this…
Offline
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
I have updated it so now it should link with sections that have spaces in them too.
http://www.kissmedia.ro/blog
Offline
#4 2004-09-21 07:56:17
- mappleJoe
- New Member
- Registered: 2004-04-14
- Posts: 2
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
I wish there was a possibility to add url-safe title for sections and categories! non-English sites look ugly with /?c=tanci%2B%25C5%25A1manci
Offline
#5 2004-09-21 12:55:52
- spchampion
- Archived Plugin Author
- Registered: 2004-06-10
- Posts: 62
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
In PHP, use the urlencode function.
Offline
#6 2004-09-21 20:04:57
- mappleJoe
- New Member
- Registered: 2004-04-14
- Posts: 2
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
it doesn’t make it better, since international users will be confused seeing non-English characters in URL
Offline
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
What would be needed is a plain substitution table that switches the accented letter for its non-accented counterpart. For example, something that would take the é character and replace it with the e character.
I had done something like that in MT a while back, as it had the nasty habit of ignoring accented letters, which produced category names that didn’t make any sense.
The point of doing it that way would be that it would generate a URL that doesn’t seem like total gibberish simply because it is not in English.
Offline
#8 2004-09-21 23:02:49
- zem
- Developer Emeritus
- From: Melbourne, Australia
- Registered: 2004-04-08
- Posts: 2,579
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
spc’s section alias plugin might solve your problems. It lets you specify the section URL and title separately.
Alex
Offline
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
Anyone else have problems installing??? I just upgraded to 1.0 and it gives me the error “Badly formed or empty plugin code”
Weird, cos it gave me the same on the zem-link plugin as well….
To even the least of these…
Offline
#10 2004-09-22 00:06:14
- zem
- Developer Emeritus
- From: Melbourne, Australia
- Registered: 2004-04-08
- Posts: 2,579
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
Jbrew, can you detail the steps you’re following to install plugins?
Alex
Offline
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
The same as always. Using the plain text file and the “old” plugin install mehtod.
To even the least of these…
Offline
Re: [archived] kis_sectionmenu
> jbrew wrote:
> The same as always. Using the plain text file and the “old” plugin install mehtod.
that doesn’t seem to be working (one more reason to hold off on upgrading). I know there’s quite a bit of discussion about this in some of the other areas of the forum. If Dean hasn’t released a patch yet, your best bet is install in the copy-and-paste method.
Listen to Kenneth
Offline