Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#13 2008-03-23 17:24:58

merz1
Member
From: Hamburg
Registered: 2006-05-04
Posts: 994
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

Tameboy. I am using the 1.2.1. Will check for update. Thanks for mentioning!

OK. Update of the plug-in is done.
All cache files deleted.
The Duffy page still looks the same.

Do you recommend an update of the SimplePie core file too?

170895 Apr 26  2007 simplepie.bak
286097 Dec  3 16:22 simplepie.inc
8192 Mar 21 18:16 simplepie_cache
166 Apr 29  2007 simplepie_image_handler.php

I am not really sure which files can/must be updated. There have been problems with different SimplePie versions before so I think it is better to ask first :)


Get all online mentions of Textpattern via OPML subscription: TXP Info Sources: Textpattern RSS feeds as dynamic OPML

Offline

#14 2008-03-23 17:43:00

merz1
Member
From: Hamburg
Registered: 2006-05-04
Posts: 994
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

Well, I have just updated to SimplePie 1.1.1 by uploading the newest simplepie.inc file from March 15th 2008.

  • txp:feed works as expected.
  • Google news ‘Duffy’ feed is still ugly.
  • My two Hamburg weather feeds look the same as before.

There looks to be all sorts of ugly unnecessary code being generated with your feeds including horrible image spacers and empty div tags. As far as I can see from the current plugin code this should not be happening.

I think the ugly code is coming directly from the Google News feed.

Edit: FYI – The SimplePie demo page also shows the ugly whitespace behavior.

Last edited by merz1 (2008-03-23 18:00:16)


Get all online mentions of Textpattern via OPML subscription: TXP Info Sources: Textpattern RSS feeds as dynamic OPML

Offline

#15 2008-03-26 23:08:13

tameboy
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-06-29
Posts: 48

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

hi merz1

I just upgraded one of my sites to 1.1.1 and it does seem to work fine with the boy_simplepie_feed plugin. I wanted to test it myself before posting but you beat me to it!

I played around with CSS on your page and found that this gets rid of at least some of the white space:

div.simplepie div {display:none}
div.simplepie ul li table tbody tr td div + div {display:inline}

There is almost certainly a better of way of doing this, but this seems to work so you might want to try adding those styles to your page.

Offline

#16 2008-03-27 19:23:49

merz1
Member
From: Hamburg
Registered: 2006-05-04
Posts: 994
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

tameboy: Thanks for the CSS!

Added it and will watch for ugly behavior

/*  Optimization for Google News */
.simplepie div {display:none}
.simplepie ul li table tbody tr td div + div {display:inline}

I have no idea what the .div in div.simplepie is good for (?) so I deleted it (but it also showed no difference in Firefox).


Get all online mentions of Textpattern via OPML subscription: TXP Info Sources: Textpattern RSS feeds as dynamic OPML

Offline

#17 2008-03-28 13:56:22

merz1
Member
From: Hamburg
Registered: 2006-05-04
Posts: 994
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

I am having issues with the following feed.

Wrapped for better reading.

<txp:feed items="5" alttitle="Video Suche: +Auto Glatteis OR +car ice sliding">
http://video.google.de/videofeed?type=search
&q=%2BAuto+Glatteis+OR+%2Bcar+ice+sliding
&so=0&num=20&output=rss</txp:feed>

Link to feed

  • Firefox shows fine
  • SimplePie Demo has some issues
  • Textpattern shows error: cURL error 6: Couldn’t resolve host ‘auto glatteis or +car ice sliding“>http:’

Error after deleting the alttitle part only and adding a space at the beginning of the line: XML error: no element found at line 1, column 0

The following stripped down code works (wrapped):

<txp:feed items="5">http://video.google.de/videofeed?
q=%2BAuto+Glatteis+OR+%2Bcar+ice+sliding</txp:feed>

Link

Last edited by merz1 (2008-03-28 15:47:39)


Get all online mentions of Textpattern via OPML subscription: TXP Info Sources: Textpattern RSS feeds as dynamic OPML

Offline

#18 2009-07-23 18:55:14

mrtunes
Member
From: Toronto, On
Registered: 2007-03-12
Posts: 575
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

hello, i get this error once i activate the plugin. i have placed the simpliepie.inc in the lib folder and i set the permission to 777

A problem occured while loading the plugin: SimplePie Plugin -> Warning: require(/public_html/textpattern/lib/simplepie.inc) [function.require]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory on line 2

Fatal error: require() [function.require]: Failed opening required ‘/public_html/textpattern/lib/simplepie.inc’ (include_path=’.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php’) in /public_html/textpattern/lib/txplib_misc.php(570) : eval()’d code on line 2

Last edited by mrtunes (2009-07-23 19:09:16)

Offline

#19 2010-01-03 11:06:30

Jaro
Member
From: S/F
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 89

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

I’d like to enhance the functionality of this plugin. I’m using it for displaying twitter feed on my website and I would like to make all links in twitter messages automatically clickable. They are mostly http://bit.ly kind of links.

I figured out I need to place this piece of code somwhere in the plugin. But since I know almost nothing about php I’m seeking for help here. Does anybody know how to make this work?

$input = ???

$output = preg_replace("/(http:\/\/|(www\.))(([^\s<]{4,68})[^\s<]*)/", '<a href="http://$2$3"">$2$4</a>', $input);

Offline

#20 2010-03-27 19:12:33

fiddle
Member
Registered: 2007-10-03
Posts: 87

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

Hello, Im having problems with the plugin. Its been working fine for some time, now all of the sudden it stopped displaying the feed. I can get the feed if I enter the address through a reader, or the browser, so the feed is fine, but simple pie is showing me the error, cant get fed from address… Any ideas.? This is for a twitter rss feed if that matters…
Thanks

Offline

#21 2010-03-27 20:39:21

Gocom
Developer Emeritus
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 4,533
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

fiddle wrote:

Any ideas.? This is for a twitter rss feed if that matters…

Of course it matters. Even more info would be nice, please could provide:

  1. What is the exact error you are referring to?
  2. Any errors displayed when error reporting is turned on (TXP in debugging mode).
  3. Do other feeds work via Simplepie when used on the same server?
  4. What are your caching settings? Caching works? If you request the feed too frequently, Twitter will ban you. Only API developers can misuse their shit, and unlike Facebook twitter won’t give keys to everyone.
  5. Post your high diagnostics (TXP/Admin/Diag/High).
  6. Is your server able to connect to other servers via cURL or fopen? Is allow_url_fopen set to true?

Offline

#22 2010-03-28 03:21:42

fiddle
Member
Registered: 2007-10-03
Posts: 87

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

Hey Gocom, thanks for the response.. It seems to be working now, not sure why, did not change anything, and the feed was working through other feed readers, etc…

1-Im not getting any feed from twitter. “http://twitter.com/statuses/user_timeline/?????.rss not receiving a feed” , something to that effect.
2- no errors in debug mode
3- this is the only feed i have on it.
since its working now, i really cant get anymore helpful info..
Guess Ill just keep an eye on it..
Thanks again..

Offline

#23 2010-03-28 07:57:30

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,745
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

As this is an orphaned plugin did you check Stef’s smd_xml?


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | State Machines | NeMe @ github
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#24 2010-09-08 22:02:06

Katalonian
Member
From: Baku, Azerbaijan
Registered: 2010-04-18
Posts: 219
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] boy_simplepie_feed

im getting error:

Error while loading plugin : SimplePie Plugin -> : Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated on line … (many lines)

I use last simplepie and version of this plugin. i creater cache folders.
what to do? or pls, advice some other plugin, but simple…


<txp:txp_me />

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB