Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2009-09-02 19:07:42

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

[solved] Jquery v1.3.2 and plugins compatibility

Pardon my ignorance but I found that most (if not all) of the plugins using jquery will not work with jquery v1.3.2.
All is ok if I replace it with the old v. 1.2.6.
Is it only a problem of mine?
If someone wants to do some testing I suggest trying with a simple and well written plugin as rah_write_each_section.
Thanks in advance for any pointer.

Last edited by redbot (2009-09-03 01:52:34)

Offline

#2 2009-09-02 19:39:32

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,539
Website GitHub

Re: [solved] Jquery v1.3.2 and plugins compatibility

redbot wrote:

Pardon my ignorance but I found that most (if not all) of the plugins using jquery will not work with jquery v1.3.2.

One thing you can check in a plugin is whether it uses selectors like this:

jQuery("input[@name='newsletter']").something()...

The ‘@’ syntax was deprecated in jQuery 1.3.x. If you find any selectors with ‘@’ symbols in them, just remove it and try again :-) That might fix it.

Last edited by Bloke (2009-09-02 19:40:15)


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#3 2009-09-02 19:53:47

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: [solved] Jquery v1.3.2 and plugins compatibility

Bloke wrote:

One thing you can check in a plugin is whether it uses selectors like this…

Thank you for your help Bloke, but I had already checked and it’s not the case.
I’m beginning to think it must be something with my install – but what? All plugins using jquery suddenly stopped working…

Offline

#4 2009-09-02 20:07:26

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,539
Website GitHub

Re: [solved] Jquery v1.3.2 and plugins compatibility

redbot wrote:

Thank you for your help Bloke, but I had already checked and it’s not the case.

Hmm, that is weird. Got a login? I could take a look; fresh pair of eyes and all that…


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#5 2009-09-03 01:21:39

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: [solved] Jquery v1.3.2 and plugins compatibility

Bloke wrote:

Hmm, that is weird. Got a login? I could take a look; fresh pair of eyes and all that…

Thank you again but I’m doing some testing in a local environment.
I noticed also this post by Els which seems to have the same problem (well, it seems she finally found some @ to remove somewere).
For the record, I’ve already tried re-downloading txp and – just to state it again – all my plugins (including glz_custom_fields) stopped working – at least for their jquery part.
I’m beginning to think I need an exorcist ;)

Offline

#6 2009-09-03 01:52:09

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: [solved] Jquery v1.3.2 and plugins compatibility

Ok it’s solved.
Taking inspiration from Els solution I found that the cause was glz_custom_fields (v. 1.1.3. in my case).
Either disabling it or manually deleting every “@” (from the plugin jquery functions) solves all problems.
Thanks everybody for helping.

Last edited by redbot (2009-09-03 02:00:53)

Offline

#7 2009-09-03 17:14:06

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: [solved] Jquery v1.3.2 and plugins compatibility

redbot wrote:

think I need an exorcist ;)

What I was really wishing for during my search for the culprit was the possibility to have smd_where_used look in plugins and scripts… ;)

Offline

#8 2009-09-03 18:54:24

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: [solved] Jquery v1.3.2 and plugins compatibility

Els wrote:

What I was really wishing for during my search for the culprit was the possibility to have smd_where_used look in plugins and scripts… ;)

Eh eh, yes but firstly I should have imagined that any “@” in any jquery script would have made every other jquery script not working.

Offline

#9 2009-09-03 19:15:48

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,539
Website GitHub

Re: [solved] Jquery v1.3.2 and plugins compatibility

redbot wrote:

any “@” in any jquery script would have made every other jquery script not working.

Don’t know why I didn’t think of it earlier but yes that makes sense; as soon as jQuery (well, javascript to be more precise) hits something it can’t handle it issues a warning/error and gives up. No second chances. That explains why sometimes things work and sometimes they don’t: the outcome depends on the execution order of the scripts so it’ll depend on what plugins each person has installed.

Last edited by Bloke (2009-09-03 19:16:13)


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#10 2010-01-18 08:58:55

candyman
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 684

Re: [solved] Jquery v1.3.2 and plugins compatibility

The new version (1.4) is out. Some internal changes.

Last edited by candyman (2010-01-18 08:59:32)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB