Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
#277 2009-01-06 15:02:46
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
mrjysta wrote:
Hi all,
Can anyone give me any advice on the tags required for populating the initial home page http://www.jystdesign.co.uk/clients/bass/front-end/blubar.html with the articles 1st image linking to it’s specific individual article
you can do that using article_image
http://www.jystdesign.co.uk/clients/bass/front-end/blubar_profile.html. Following the html structure in the examples/.
and smd_gallery
Last edited by colak (2009-01-06 15:05:23)
Yiannis
——————————
NeMe | hblack.art | EMAP | A Sea change | Toolkit of Care
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.
Offline
#278 2009-01-06 18:30:10
- mrjysta
- Member
- Registered: 2008-09-22
- Posts: 89
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
Ok think I got it, so for my homepage form I would just:
<div class=“pfilebox”><txp:permlink><txp:article_image thumbnail=“1” class=“pfilepic” /></txp:permlink></div>
P.S sorry if this is now in the wrong thread.
Offline
#279 2009-01-30 00:27:28
- ploinkr
- Member
- From: Montreal
- Registered: 2007-12-06
- Posts: 83
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
Sorry if this has been answered previously (couldn’t find anything with forum search…) but I just installed upm_image with Smart Image Resizer and I’m getting the message “Javascript file could not be find!” (sic) when the page loads, although everything looks right.
Any idea what could be the problem?
Thanks.
ok, just found this with firebug:
<script src="http://www.mysite.com/beta/index.php?js=upm_image" type="text/javascript">
1alert('Javascript File could not be find!')
</script>
If anyone can help I’d be much obliged – really a newbie with anything Javascript :-/
Thanks.
haHA! I just turned javascript insertion OFF for upm_image and now all is well :-D
Thanks to jakob
Last edited by ploinkr (2009-01-30 20:32:54)
Offline
#280 2009-01-30 18:47:19
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
I have run into a conflict with upm_image and a script called MenuMatic that uses Mootools.
Sorry…. I just figured out the problem! The call to MenuMatic needed to wrapped in a domready event
Last edited by photonomad (2009-01-30 19:04:25)
Offline
#281 2009-02-08 13:39:02
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
There are currently “escape” attributes for the <txp:upm_img_alt />
and <txp:upm_img_caption />
tags when using a form but most of the time I don’t require a form as I am using the plug-in as an output for use with something like Galleria. Is there any chance of having similar attributes for the main <txp:upm_image />
tag?
Stuart
In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.
Offline
#282 2009-02-08 22:00:03
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
The automatic output should already be escaped, but I’m looking at the plugin and it looks like it isn’t done consistently. *slaps wrist*
Now are you asking for the output to (optionally) not be escaped?
Offline
#283 2009-02-09 16:39:50
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
Well the problem is that I’m working on a site with art images where the caption includes the title of the piece plus information on the materials used and they would like the title on it’s own line, requiring the addition of a <br />
tag, however at the moment instead of getting a line break it simply displays the tag. I think it would be better if it were optional in the form of an attribute.
Also profuse apologies but the tag I use is actually the <txp:upm_article_image />
tag though I’m thinking anything that can output the image caption should have this option.
Stuart
In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.
Offline
#284 2009-02-10 02:42:59
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
Hmm, well that’s really the purpose of the form feature. The automatic output is for those that don’t really want to change stuff. Keep in mind that you don’t have to use an actual form, you can use it as a container tag too.
Offline
#285 2009-02-10 15:59:33
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
OK. I’ll look at it but I’m really not sure I can use a form with Galleria. I’ll let you know.
Stuart
In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.
Offline
#286 2009-02-10 17:14:51
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
How about you show me what you’re doing now? maybe I can help.
Offline
#287 2009-02-10 20:46:09
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
Well Galleria requires an unordered list of the images it is to use for a gallery. This can be easily produced with your plug-in and a comma-separated list of the image id numbers in the article image box. From this listing Galleria generates it’s own thumbs and when a thumb is clicked it becomes class=“active” and the full-size image is displayed along with the caption (title) if required. At the moment the code goes something like:-
<div class="clearfix">
<p class="nav"><a href="#" onclick="$.galleria.prev(); return false;">« Prev</a> | <a href="#" onclick="$.galleria.next(); return false;">Next »</a></p>
<txp:upm_article_image wraptag="ul" class="galleria" break="li" show_alt="yes" show_title="yes" />
</div>
Now that first paragraph simply contains Prev/Next links which can go anywhere or nowhere if you don’t want them. The important part is your tag producing a ul with class=“galleria” containing all the li tags which hold the individual image information. As you can see I use show_title=“yes” and it would be really simple if I had the option to add something like an “escape_title” attribute.
As you can see the code is really pretty simple but it can produce some really cool galleries such as this one I worked on a couple of months back and this one which is the one that contains the art images I’m talking about (by the way, the thumbs are still there, you just can’t see them). At the moment we haven’t added any captions to this second example until we can sort out this escaping problem.
Last edited by thebombsite (2009-02-10 20:47:07)
Stuart
In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.
Offline
#288 2009-02-10 21:40:00
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] upm_image: More powerful image display
<div class="clearfix">
<p class="nav"><a href="#" onclick="$.galleria.prev(); return false;">« Prev</a> | <a href="#" onclick="$.galleria.next(); return false;">Next »</a></p>
<ul class="galleria">
<txp:upm_article_image><li><img src="<txp:upm_img_href />" alt="<txp:upm_img_alt />" title="<txp:upm_img_caption" /></li></txp:upm_article_image>
</ul>
</div>
The problem is that the fallback wouldn’t be very nice – html tags are not legal inside attribute values. Also, I took a look at Galleria itself, and I believe even without my plugin’s escaping, the break tag would be displayed as text, because the jQuery text() function is used for the caption.
What you could do is continue to use my plugin as you already do, and slightly modify the Galleria plugin. You could have it parse the title for some kind of text delimiter, which would still be valid inside the title attribute, and stick everything before the delimter in one div and everything after it in another. So a title might be, “Some picture,Materials”.
Your other option is to try and different jQuery gallery that allows for more customization. Have you looked at the Cycle plugin?
Offline