Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
Pages: 1
Adding a Navbar
I’m trying to put in a navbar for the important links so I can free up space in the two sidebars. What I’ve done so far is this:
Code in the default CSS:
<code>
#navbar
{
margin-left: -10px;
}
#navbar a
{
text-align: right;
font-family: Arial, san-serif;
font-color: #CC1100;
font-size: 0.95em;;
}
</code>
Code in the page template:
<code>
<div id=“navbar”>
<a href=“http://www.irisshot.com/”>home</a>
</div>
</code>
However, if you go to my site (www.irisshot.com), you’ll see that the first link I’ve added in doesn’t sit inside the blue test navbar I’ve put up, and it doesn’t follow any of the CSS I’ve set for it. I’ve looked throughout the coding at how other links are set up, and I don’t see anything wrong with what I’ve done. The only part I think that would be a problem is the way I have it coded in the page template, with the link sitting inside the div with the image for the navbar itelf.
So, what exactly do I need to do to fix it? Should the image for the navbar be in the CSS instead?
Any help is greatly appreciated.
Last edited by Mithrus (2008-02-10 01:49:42)
Offline
#2 2008-02-10 01:34:01
- els
- Moderator
- From: The Netherlands
- Registered: 2004-06-06
- Posts: 7,458
Re: Adding a Navbar
Mithrus wrote:
Should the image for the navbar be in the CSS instead?
Yep. Add either background: url(/images/navbar.jpg);
or background-color: #whateverthecolouris;
to #navbar
, and remove the image from the page template. The way you have it now the text will always come after the image.
Offline
Re: Adding a Navbar
All right, so I did that, however, the CSS still isn’t being followed. Not exactly sure why that would be, though.
Offline
#4 2008-02-10 02:33:19
- els
- Moderator
- From: The Netherlands
- Registered: 2004-06-06
- Posts: 7,458
Re: Adding a Navbar
text-align: right;
belongs in #navbar
, not in #navbar a
.
If you’re using Firefox, use the Web Developer extension and find some CSS tutorials :)
Offline
Re: Adding a Navbar
Edit: Never mind this post. I figured out what I was trying to do, so I don’t need this post anymore.
Last edited by Mithrus (2008-02-10 22:53:26)
Offline
Pages: 1