Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2007-09-06 20:32:32

guiguibonbon
Member
Registered: 2006-02-20
Posts: 296

don't repeat form not found error

Sorry guys, been giving you a lot of work today :)

Is it really useful to have the ‘form not found error’ repeated for each article in lists, and the query repeated each time?

Suggestion :

        function fetch_form($name)
 	        {
 	                static $forms = array();
 	                if (@$forms[$name] == false)
 	                 	return;
 	                elseif (isset($forms[$name]))
 	                        $f = $forms[$name];
 	                else {
 	                        $row = safe_row('Form', 'txp_form',"name='".doSlash($name)."'");
 	                        if (!$row) {
 	                                $forms[$name] = false;
 	                                trigger_error(gTxt('form_not_found').': '.$name);
 	                                return;
 	                        }
 	                        $f = $row['Form'];
 	                        $forms[$name] = $f;
 	                }

 	                trace_add('['.gTxt('form').': '.$name.']');
 	                return $f;
 	        }

this guy is freaking out.

Last edited by guiguibonbon (2007-09-06 20:40:17)

Offline

#2 2007-09-06 21:05:23

ruud
Developer Emeritus
From: a galaxy far far away
Registered: 2006-06-04
Posts: 5,068
Website

Re: don't repeat form not found error

I won’t fix that one. This is clearly a user error. The fact that it is pointed out more than once, just helps to point out that there is a problem. The user should fix the mistake and then the problem is solved.

Offline

#3 2007-09-06 21:11:45

guiguibonbon
Member
Registered: 2006-02-20
Posts: 296

Re: don't repeat form not found error

I almost agree, except it gives the impression you’ve used more than one article tag.

Or at least just don’t do the query again. That’s not very clean.

Or : do a trace_add instead of a trigger_error for the other errors.

Offline

#4 2007-09-06 21:25:07

ruud
Developer Emeritus
From: a galaxy far far away
Registered: 2006-06-04
Posts: 5,068
Website

Re: don't repeat form not found error

The extra queries are not a problem, because they disappear when the mistake is corrected. There’s an easier solution, btw: setting $forms[$name] to an empty string (when the form wasn’t found) has the same effect.

Offline

#5 2007-09-06 21:56:34

guiguibonbon
Member
Registered: 2006-02-20
Posts: 296

Re: don't repeat form not found error

oh, wouldn’t that return an empty form?

Gees, am I stupid at times.

Although… trace_add('['.gTxt('form').': '.$name.']'); would still have worked.

And you couldn’t do if ($forms[$name] == "") since a user could for a reason or another use an empty form. I actually remember doing that way back for a reason or another. Ok, enough geek-talk for today :D

Last edited by guiguibonbon (2007-09-06 22:03:14)

Offline

#6 2007-09-07 09:35:22

ruud
Developer Emeritus
From: a galaxy far far away
Registered: 2006-06-04
Posts: 5,068
Website

Re: don't repeat form not found error

No, I mean, if the form can’t be found, assume it’s an empty form without adding any further “if” constructs.

Offline

#7 2007-09-07 13:49:37

marios
Archived Plugin Author
Registered: 2005-03-12
Posts: 1,253

Re: don't repeat form not found error

Apart from the repeated error strings ( which is ok for me),
couldn’t the debugging_output be wrapped inside the page source with pre code tags, or be dumped at a specified folder as a log file from prefs?

I think, that would be a usfull addition to crockery.

regards, marios

Last edited by marios (2007-09-07 13:51:28)


⌃ ⇧ < ⌃ ⇧ >

Offline

#8 2007-09-07 13:52:50

ruud
Developer Emeritus
From: a galaxy far far away
Registered: 2006-06-04
Posts: 5,068
Website

Re: don't repeat form not found error

Actually, I was thinking about using <blink> tags to make them even more obvious.

Offline

#9 2007-09-07 15:36:33

guiguibonbon
Member
Registered: 2006-02-20
Posts: 296

Re: don't repeat form not found error

Hahahahahaaaaa.

I think they’re pretty ok, actually. They look even better with blueprint

It might be nice to add this to the default css :

pre {
color: #333;
margin-bottom: 1.3em;
background: #eee;
border:0.1em solid #ddd;
padding:1.5em;
text-align:center;
font-family:Consolas, "Bitstream Vera Sans Mono", "Courier New", Courier, monospace;
}

Last edited by guiguibonbon (2007-09-07 15:39:46)

Offline

#10 2007-09-07 16:54:31

marios
Archived Plugin Author
Registered: 2005-03-12
Posts: 1,253

Re: don't repeat form not found error

Or how about a Syntax hilighted version with LIne NUmbers, styled with Twilight in the header CSS.

regards, marios

Last edited by marios (2007-09-07 16:55:36)


⌃ ⇧ < ⌃ ⇧ >

Offline

#11 2007-09-07 17:10:10

ruud
Developer Emeritus
From: a galaxy far far away
Registered: 2006-06-04
Posts: 5,068
Website

Re: don't repeat form not found error

IIRC, the errors are output above the doctype, so technically it’s not even a valid (X)HTML document. No point in trying to style that.

Offline

#12 2007-09-07 17:28:45

guiguibonbon
Member
Registered: 2006-02-20
Posts: 296

Re: don't repeat form not found error

Marios, I love that. I wonder if a plugin can do it. But how could two warnings be separated?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB