Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
Pages: 1
#1 2007-05-18 00:10:07
- Aleksandersen
- Member
- From: Lillehammer, Norway
- Registered: 2007-04-12
- Posts: 77
Customize feed URLs
Hi,
I want to customize my feed URLs. How can I get these URLs (Atom formatted) without doing an additional Apache rewrite rule on top on Textpattern’s rewrite rules?
http://mysite.net/kanal/
http://mysite.net/kanal/sectionname/
Offline
#2 2007-05-18 01:38:55
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: Customize feed URLs
Modify a Textpattern file (textpattern/publish.php).
Offline
#3 2007-05-18 01:47:55
- Aleksandersen
- Member
- From: Lillehammer, Norway
- Registered: 2007-04-12
- Posts: 77
Re: Customize feed URLs
Thanks, Mary! :)
I figured out how to do /kanal/, but I have not been able to figure out how to do /kanal/sectionname/. Do you happen to know where what I should look at to get that working?
Offline
#4 2007-05-18 02:05:01
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: Customize feed URLs
It just occured to me that there may be a plugin that lets you do this kind of stuff with URLs, so you might want to look into that (plugin is better than hacking).
I imagine you got it working within the following section of code:
switch($u1) {
case 'atom':
include txpath.'/publish/atom.php'; exit(atom());
case 'rss':
include txpath.'/publish/rss.php'; exit(rss());
If so, $u2
would have in it the section name. Both the Atom and RSS feeds look for the section name in $_GET['section']
, so all you should need to do is add the following to each case
, but before each include
statement:
$_GET['section'] = $u2;
That’s all you need to do, since the feeds do the necessary after that. Looks something like:
switch($u1) {
case 'atom':
$_GET['section'] = $u2;
include txpath.'/publish/atom.php'; exit(atom());
case 'rss':
$_GET['section'] = $u2;
include txpath.'/publish/rss.php'; exit(rss());
Offline
#5 2007-05-18 02:28:07
- Aleksandersen
- Member
- From: Lillehammer, Norway
- Registered: 2007-04-12
- Posts: 77
Re: Customize feed URLs
Mary wrote:
It just occured to me that there may be a plugin that lets you do this kind of stuff with URLs, so you might want to look into that (plugin is better than hacking).
Yea, there were many. But all outdated.
I imagine you got it working within the following section of code: (..)
I added a case kilder
, and that is how I got that part working. However I could not make heads or tails of rewriting the sections.
Offline
#6 2007-05-19 18:25:29
- Aleksandersen
- Member
- From: Lillehammer, Norway
- Registered: 2007-04-12
- Posts: 77
Re: Customize feed URLs
OK, I cannot get it to work properly. I think I will have to go for localised URLs in stead. How can I localise the URLs by replasing “section=” by “seksjon=”?
Offline
#7 2007-05-20 01:21:41
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: Customize feed URLs
That would actually require more changes. Try this:
switch($u1) {
case 'kanal':
$_GET['section'] = $u2;
include txpath.'/publish/atom.php'; exit(atom());
case 'rss':
Offline
Pages: 1