Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
Pages: 1
#1 2007-02-02 19:18:52
- wii
- Member
- Registered: 2005-05-08
- Posts: 77
PHP in my templates
How do I add PHP in my templates using textpattern ? I have this for example:
<?php require_once(“/home/wii/public_html/stats/counter.php”);?>
How do I convert the above, so it works in textpattern?
I´ve been looking at this: http://textpattern.com/faq/34/how-do-i-use-php-code
But can´t get it to work.
Thanks
Offline
#2 2007-02-02 20:14:15
- els
- Moderator
- From: The Netherlands
- Registered: 2004-06-06
- Posts: 7,458
Re: PHP in my templates
From the FAQ:
Make sure you use
<txp:php>
…</txp:php>
instead of<?php ... ?>
or<? ... ?>
.There is an Advanced Preference that can be used to disable PHP code.
Did you set this right in Admin > Preferences > Advanced? (somewhere under ‘Publish’: Allow PHP in pages?)
Offline
#3 2007-02-10 12:38:00
- wii
- Member
- Registered: 2005-05-08
- Posts: 77
Re: PHP in my templates
I did set this right in Admin.
I´m trying for a simple PHP include, like this:
<txp:php>include(“/home/wii/public_html/stats/counter.php”)</txp:php>
But I get an error:
Parse error: parse error, unexpected $ in /home/wii/public_html/beta/textpattern/publish/taghandlers.php(2681) : eval()’d code on line 1
Last edited by wii (2007-02-10 12:38:23)
Offline
#4 2007-02-10 17:56:29
- NyteOwl
- Member
- From: Nova Scotia, Canada
- Registered: 2005-09-24
- Posts: 539
Re: PHP in my templates
I get the same thing with the include and virtual functions using <txp:php>
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination. / 36-bits Forever! / #include <disclaimer.h>;
Offline
#5 2007-02-10 18:05:22
- wii
- Member
- Registered: 2005-05-08
- Posts: 77
Re: PHP in my templates
Does that mean that PHP includes are not possible within Textpattern ?
Offline
#6 2007-02-10 21:17:21
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: PHP in my templates
Yes, they are most certainly possible. I haven’t had a problem with them at all.
So, if you run stats/counter.php directly, you don’t get any errors/warnings?
Offline
#7 2007-02-10 21:28:28
- wii
- Member
- Registered: 2005-05-08
- Posts: 77
Re: PHP in my templates
Directly, yes, the include works on my current page, which is hardcoded.
Can you tell me exactly how your includes look like within textpattern ?
Thanks
Offline
#8 2007-02-13 18:37:36
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: PHP in my templates
I can do either relative or absolute includes:
<txp:php>include('my-file.php');</txp:php>
<txp:php>include('/path/to/my-file.php');</txp:php>
Both work exactly the same for me. I’ve no problems with require, include_once or require_once either.
…the include works on my current page, which is hardcoded.
- Is there further PHP in that file?
- Do you have error reporting turned on?
Offline
#9 2007-04-07 14:33:19
- wii
- Member
- Registered: 2005-05-08
- Posts: 77
Re: PHP in my templates
This works fine Mary, but why can´t I use this code in the articles themselves ? They only work in the template.
Thanks
Offline
#10 2007-04-07 18:14:40
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: PHP in my templates
It’s likely Textile causing the problem. FAQ
Offline
#11 2007-04-07 19:09:24
- wii
- Member
- Registered: 2005-05-08
- Posts: 77
Re: PHP in my templates
Thanks, problem solved.
Offline
Pages: 1