Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2007-01-04 10:43:50

Simonk
New Member
Registered: 2007-01-04
Posts: 2

How do I make a splash frontpage the easiest?

Hi there,
How do I make a splash page as a frontpage for a site? Like this site: www.mazanti.dk
Thanks.
S

Offline

#2 2007-01-04 11:30:13

jm
Plugin Author
From: Missoula, MT
Registered: 2005-11-27
Posts: 1,746
Website

Re: How do I make a splash frontpage the easiest?

The easiest way would be to use the plugin, glx_if. The second easiest would be to use conditionals. In your default template, enter the following:

<txp:if_category>
	<!--if we are on a category listing-->
	<txp:article />
<txp:else />
	<!--We're not on a category listing-->
	<txp:if_search>
				<!--we're on a search results page-->
				<txp:article />
	<txp:else />
			<!--We're on the homepage!-->
			<h1>Welcome to my awesome splash page!</h1>
	</txp:if_search>
</txp:if_category>

Offline

#3 2007-01-04 14:03:22

Simonk
New Member
Registered: 2007-01-04
Posts: 2

Re: How do I make a splash frontpage the easiest?

Hi JM,

Thanks. First solution seems to work – I can design my own splash as on your site. But how do I not show the rest of the default template content? Sorry, I am a newbie to TXP. Seem great though.

S

Offline

#4 2007-01-04 18:58:24

jm
Plugin Author
From: Missoula, MT
Registered: 2005-11-27
Posts: 1,746
Website

Re: How do I make a splash frontpage the easiest?

No problem – place this in your default template:

<txp:glx_if_frontpage>

	<h1>This is my splash page.</h1>

</txp:if_frontpage>

<txp:glx_if_not_frontpage>

	<txp:article />

</txp:glx_if_not_frontpage>	

Your splash page content will go in the if_frontpage but if we’re on a search or category listing, it’ll use the template content between if_not_frontpage.

Offline

#5 2007-01-06 21:19:34

NyteOwl
Member
From: Nova Scotia, Canada
Registered: 2005-09-24
Posts: 539

Re: How do I make a splash frontpage the easiest?

While I don’t often use splash pages as the search engines don’t seem to appreciate them, the times I do use them their content is generally pretty static. In such cases I just use a regualt index.html file adn the entrance links to index.php. This will work on most servers unless you have changed the order of preference in htaccess from .html, .php to .php, .html


Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination. / 36-bits Forever! / #include <disclaimer.h>;

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB