Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
Pages: 1
#1 2006-10-03 18:07:33
- emehrkay
- New Member
- Registered: 2006-10-03
- Posts: 4
echo a catagory
based on what catagory the article is in?
Offline
Re: echo a catagory
Is this what you’re looking for: <a href=“http://textbook.textpattern.net/wiki/index.php?title=Txp:category1_/”>txp:category1</a> and <a href=“http://textbook.textpattern.net/wiki/index.php?title=Txp:category2_/”>txp:category2</a> ?
Offline
#3 2006-10-03 18:43:25
- emehrkay
- New Member
- Registered: 2006-10-03
- Posts: 4
Re: echo a catagory
testing it out using
“cat: txp: category1 “ //removed foward slash and brackets
is just returing cat: and i put all the articles under a catagory
Last edited by emehrkay (2006-10-03 18:45:23)
Offline
Re: echo a catagory
Can you post an URL for the page that demonstrates your problem?
Offline
Re: echo a catagory
testing it out using
“cat: txp: category1 “
I don’t know if this may be the problem, but you have a whitespace inside the tag that should not be there: <code><txp:category1 /></code>
Offline
#6 2006-10-04 18:07:35
- emehrkay
- New Member
- Registered: 2006-10-03
- Posts: 4
Re: echo a catagory
jordi wrote:
bq. testing it out using
“cat: txp: category1 “
I don’t know if this may be the problem, but you have a whitespace inside the tag that should not be there: <code><txp:category1 /></code>
i am doing exactly that (im still playing around with the default stuff – tyring to get used to the system)
<code>
<!— head —>
<div id=“head”>
<h1><txp:link_to_home><txp:sitename /></txp:link_to_home></h1>
<h2><txp:site_slogan /></h2>
cat: <txp:category1 />
</div>
</code>
and still just “cat:”
Offline
#7 2006-10-04 20:14:16
- marios
- Archived Plugin Author
- Registered: 2005-03-12
- Posts: 1,253
Re: echo a catagory
The category tag doesn’t output anything, if it’s not in an article form, since it doesn’t have anything to filter out.
regards
⌃ ⇧ < ⎋ ⌃ ⇧ >
Offline
#8 2006-10-04 20:35:40
- els
- Moderator
- From: The Netherlands
- Registered: 2004-06-06
- Posts: 7,458
Re: echo a catagory
You can put this in an article form (lets call it ‘cat1’):
<code>
Cat: <txp:category1 />
</code>
And this on the page:
<code>
<!— head —>
<div id=“head”>
<h1><txp:link_to_home><txp:sitename /></txp:link_to_home></h1>
<h2><txp:site_slogan /></h2>
<txp:if_individual_article>
<txp:article form=“cat1” />
</txp:if_individual_article>
</div>
</code>
It will only work on an individual article page, and you’ll have to set ‘Automatically append comments to articles’ to ‘no’ if you do this, otherwise your comments will show up in the head also.
Offline
Pages: 1