Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2006-09-23 10:55:46

elduderino
Member
From: Whitstable. south-East England
Registered: 2006-01-02
Posts: 175
Website

get rid of "search"

HI there,

Is there any way to get rid of the “search” text that seems to be automatically appended to search form? Ive labelled it on another way thats accessible and i need to get rid of it.

This is the code in my template:
<code><txp:search_input size=“29” height= “10px” /></code>

and this is the code parsed:

<code><form action=“http://localhost/textpattern/” method=“get”><p>Search<br /><input type=“text” name=“q” value=”“ size=“29” /></code>

I dont want the search text in there, or the br for that matter or am i going to have to style it out using display:none or something?

Is there any way to get rid of it?

Thanks

EDIT: actually if i style it out using <code> #head p { display: none;}</code> the search form itself is hidden aswell si its not an option i dont think.

Last edited by elduderino (2006-09-23 10:59:23)

Offline

#2 2006-09-23 11:49:19

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: get rid of "search"

You can use the attribute label="". (Look for available attributes here.)
The <br /> is hardcoded (in taghandlers.php, function search_input).

It looks like you can also create your own search input form (attribute form="..."). Default is search_input, but I assume that one is also hardcoded somewhere, because it is not among the default forms.

Offline

#3 2006-09-24 07:47:36

elduderino
Member
From: Whitstable. south-East England
Registered: 2006-01-02
Posts: 175
Website

Re: get rid of "search"

Hi els, thanks for that!

Offline

#4 2006-10-01 21:44:39

elduderino
Member
From: Whitstable. south-East England
Registered: 2006-01-02
Posts: 175
Website

Re: get rid of "search"

Hmm, actually that doesnt seem to work! Ive done this:

<code> <txp:search_input height= “10px” label=”“ />
</code>

which parses this:
<code> <form action=“http://www.boudaki.com/” method=“get”><p><input type=“text” name=“q” value=”“ size=“15” /></p></form></code>

and it does in deed get rid of search but the problem is that it also gets rid of the search box!

any ideas?

Offline

#5 2006-10-01 23:40:23

jm
Plugin Author
From: Missoula, MT
Registered: 2005-11-27
Posts: 1,746
Website

Re: get rid of "search"

You can use plain HTML:

<code>
<form action=”<txp:site_url />” method=“get”>
<input type=“text” name=“q” value=”“ size=“29” />
</form>
</code>

Height is not a valid attribute either ;).

Offline

#6 2006-10-02 17:16:04

elduderino
Member
From: Whitstable. south-East England
Registered: 2006-01-02
Posts: 175
Website

Re: get rid of "search"

Hi there jm,

Thanks for that works a treat

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB