Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2023-09-14 17:23:23

new_guy

creating first page in Textpattern

Hey. Hey. I’m a complete beginner in Textpattern and I’m trying to create my first website. I have created four basic HTML templates which I styled using CSS. I will use these templates over and over again and will only change the content through articles (I guess?). So I have made 4 pages and 4 sections. In the pages, I invoke forms (with this tag <txp:output_form form=“xxx” />) and in the forms I call the content of the articles with the <txp:article_custom id=“xxx”> tag. I need me to enter a link to another article, and clicking on it would switch the content within one template. But sometimes I need to link to another template as well. Example: one of the templates is a product portfolio, when I click on a product I would like the page and its content to switch (but not all the content, for example the navbar will still be the same but the footer will be modified on some pages). How do I achieve this? Thank you in advance and have a nice day!

#2 2023-09-14 21:31:10

Bloke
Developer
Website GitHub

Re: creating first page in Textpattern

Hi and welcome to Textpattern. We’ll get you up to speed as fast as we can. It sounds like you’re nearly there already.

First of all, you might like to familiarise yourself with the semantic model. It’s outlined in Textpattern in two minutes and The Basics tutorial.

Making a page template per section is fine if all your sections are very different from one another. But if there’s any commonality, you can usually get away with fewer page templates, and assign one to many sections.