Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2022-09-10 04:50:30

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,720
Website

Tuning PHP-FPM Settings

What would recommended / decent / … settings here for a low to moderate Textpattern site? Currently using PHP 8.1.

In particular(as those are the only settings I can modify via the host control panel):

  • FPM Max Child Threads
  • FPM Max Requests

Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#2 2022-09-11 00:54:05

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,720
Website

Re: Tuning PHP-FPM Settings

Based on this page and calculator linked within, I came up with :

  • FPM Max Child Threads: 16

Not sure what decent value for FPM Max Requests, opinion from server genius appreciated. TY.

PS – Server runs Apache (centOS) and there is 1GB RAM available.


Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#3 2022-09-12 13:50:40

gaekwad
Server grease monkey
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 3,920
GitHub

Re: Tuning PHP-FPM Settings

Short of being able to change any and all PHP-FPM settings, I’d suggest leaving the settings as they are and monitoring your PHP error log. I know that’s not a very exciting answer, but instinct says your host has likely tweaked things for the majority of sites to work OK, and you can poke around with the numbers if you encounter an issue.

Unless I’m missing something, the linked calculator doesn’t account for the duration of PHP-FPM being alive, which will impact the calculations.

For what it’s worth, Textpattern project servers use the defaults out of the box, and we’re running on 1GB or 2GB servers typically, albeit with some extra optimisations because I’m a bit…extra.

Offline

#4 2022-09-13 00:49:14

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,720
Website

Re: Tuning PHP-FPM Settings

Thanks for the feedback. I’d gladly leave to the defaults. The problem I have is when I configure a site through the host’s control panel, I must fill in some value – required field, numeric values,… the whole thing. Hence the question.

I guess I can start with something not-to-greedy and see from there…


Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#5 2022-09-13 15:12:23

gaekwad
Server grease monkey
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 3,920
GitHub

Re: Tuning PHP-FPM Settings

phiw13 wrote #333888:

I guess I can start with something not-to-greedy and see from there…

Have a look here: github.com/php/php-src/blob/master/sapi/fpm/www.conf.in

Locate the pm.* entries, and crib the defaults. The relevant part starts at line #84 (see github.com/php/php-src/blob/master/sapi/fpm/www.conf.in#L84).

Offline

#6 2022-09-14 02:07:39

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,720
Website

Re: Tuning PHP-FPM Settings

gaekwad wrote #333895:

Have a look here: github.com/php/php-src/blob/master/sapi/fpm/www.conf.in

Locate the pm.* entries, and crib the defaults. The relevant part starts at line #84 (see github.com/php/php-src/blob/master/sapi/fpm/www.conf.in#L84).

Thanks. I’ll have a look and start experimenting.


Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB