Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#31 2020-06-22 10:48:56

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 9,468
Website

Re: Logging form after upgrade

philwareham wrote #323901:

I have a 4.8.x branch of the admin themes (as the 4.9 themes have been extensively changed) so I’ll just add the code to both theme branches and pull each in accordingly.

Oh brill. Okay. Everything’s merged anyway.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#32 2020-06-22 12:20:46

philwareham
Core designer
From: Haslemere, Surrey, UK
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 3,307
Website

Re: Logging form after upgrade

CSS is now done in both master and 4.8.2 branches. I did tweak the HTML too to make it simpler for this task.

Offline

#33 2020-06-22 15:11:30

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 9,468
Website

Re: Logging form after upgrade

Ace, thank you! Lookin’ good.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#34 2020-06-22 17:11:15

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,003
Website

Re: Logging form after upgrade

I just received an email from crowdin regarding the new strings to translate. Should I take it that Language will be the word on the login page? I need the context in order to make the right choice for this one.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | State Machines | NeMe @ github | Covid-19; a resource
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Online

#35 2020-06-22 17:29:35

philwareham
Core designer
From: Haslemere, Surrey, UK
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 3,307
Website

Re: Logging form after upgrade

Yes it’s used there and a couple of other places I think

Offline

#36 2020-06-22 17:29:39

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 9,468
Website

Re: Logging form after upgrade

colak wrote #323911:

Should I take it that Language will be the word on the login page?

Yes, exactly that.

EDIT: 4 seconds too slow :)

EDIT 2: And, bizarrely, I couldn’t find it in use anywhere else in the code but it must be around somewhere. Unless it used to be for the single “Language” dropdown before we introduced the site/admin language split, and then just got left behind?

Last edited by Bloke (2020-06-22 17:31:36)


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#37 2020-06-22 18:12:21

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,003
Website

Re: Logging form after upgrade

Done:)


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | State Machines | NeMe @ github | Covid-19; a resource
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Online

#38 2020-06-22 18:38:20

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 9,468
Website

Re: Logging form after upgrade

Thank you.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#39 2020-06-23 06:54:57

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,014
Website

Re: Logging form after upgrade

An odd experience

So, on dev up-to-date, I have a few (5) languages installed. Front is set to En(GB), back-end was set to En(GB). After updating to the latest code, the login panel comes up using… Farsi. Logged in without changing anything, just to see what happens… Farsi for the admin side, nothing surprising. Heading to the languages panel, En(GB) and French needed updating. Done. Switched to En(GB), going to another panel to make sure the pref “sticks”, and logging out we go.

Login panel shows up in French1.

The whole time the front-end or “site language” was set to En(GB).

I am not sure if that is the experience I’d like to see. I think I’d prefer always defaulting to site language.

–^–^–^–

1 as it happens, last, most recent updated language.

Last edited by phiw13 (2020-06-23 06:56:08)

Offline

#40 2020-06-23 07:45:34

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 9,468
Website

Re: Logging form after upgrade

Hmmm, are you sure this isn’t your cache thing rearing its head? Check the logout link by hovering over it as you navigate the admin side. It’s meant to track the admin language, though the link’s constructed from JavaScript for reasons I’m not entirely sure.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB