Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2019-11-22 18:34:10

gaekwad
Admin
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 2,633

Full-page screenshots

Thread split off from here.

jakob wrote #320205:

2560px. That‘s quite a viewport!

At the risk of hijacking the thread…it’s not quite 4K in real terms. Dell P2715Q on a 2012 Mac mini:

I use Paparazzi to mimic veeeeeery large viewports when I’m testing stuff, at least from a Webkit point of view.

Offline

#2 2019-11-23 06:59:39

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 7,381
Website

Re: Full-page screenshots

gaekwad wrote #320206:

I use Paparazzi to mimic veeeeeery large viewports when I’m testing stuff, at least from a Webkit point of view.

I use developer tools for screenshots. Right click on the page, select Inspect Element, click on the icon on the top right of the pop up window, setup width and height of the page, and click the photo button. Sounds complicated but it is really easy and flexible.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | State Machines | Respbublika! | NeMe @ github

Offline

#3 2019-11-23 07:38:28

jakob
Admin
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-01-20
Posts: 3,591
Website

Re: Full-page screenshots

colak wrote #320217:

I use developer tools for screenshots.

Firefox can now do part-page and full-page screenshots on its own: Firefox screenshots.
In Safari, you can right-click on an HTML-node in the inspector and create a screenshot of that node. CSS Tricks has an overview of several browsers.

I’ve not used Paparazzi but it looks good for making predictable-sized screenshots or batch screenshooting several pages of a website.


TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

Offline

#4 2019-11-23 08:50:15

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 1,759
Website

Re: Full-page screenshots

Yeah, Paparazi is a nice tool. I’ve known Wevah, the developper, for a long time (the Camino days…). Recommended.
(I have not tested it yet on macOS 10.15, but I guess it would work as Wevah was usually pretty fast with compat. issues)

For a double quick check, I use the Responsive design mode in Safari. The 3 “screens” on the right – mimicking desktops – can be configured to any size, and Safari remembers it. You can also specify the resolution @1x, @2x …

Not perfect, as it is scaled, but it is not a screenshot and thus fully interactive.

Last edited by phiw13 (2019-11-23 08:50:52)

Offline

#5 2019-11-23 09:10:40

gaekwad
Admin
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 2,633

Re: Full-page screenshots

phiw13 wrote #320221:

Yeah, Paparazi is a nice tool. I’ve known Wevah, the developper, for a long time (the Camino days…). Recommended.

Camino was my favourite browser. Back in the day, I had many (fun) arguments at Mac user groups about how it was better than Safari. Thankfully, Safari got good and was a worthy replacement.

Offline

#6 2019-11-23 10:19:20

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 1,759
Website

Re: Full-page screenshots

gaekwad wrote #320224:

Back in the day, I had many (fun) arguments at Mac user groups about how it was better than Safari.

at risk of veering into OT in an split-because-OT thread… (meta is it ?)

Safari back then: metal – the horror Mr Jobs, the horror. Tiger, it was, I think. Need I say more?
Camino it was, and many bugs filed, patches submitted, icons, many many icons later, Safari it is (now).

Offline

#7 2019-11-23 10:28:54

gaekwad
Admin
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 2,633

Re: Full-page screenshots

phiw13 wrote #320225:

at risk of veering into OT in an split-because-OT thread… (meta is it ?)

We can sub-split…

Camino it was, and many bugs filed, patches submitted, icons, many many icons later, Safari it is (now).

Faultless summary. Bravo.

Offline

#8 2019-11-23 18:48:16

uli
Moderator
From: Cologne
Registered: 2006-08-15
Posts: 4,208

Re: Full-page screenshots

Just go to the Moderation forum, i.e. not inside the topic but inside the containing forum, and there’s the Merge button at the bottom of the page.

POSTSCRIPT by Jakob: Merge done and superfluous links/posts removed. Thanks for showing me how it’s done and apologies for the confusion this morning.


In bad weather I never leave home without wet_plugout, smd_where_used and adi_form_links

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB