Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
I can't get my plugin to generate any output
I created a plugin:
http://www.jjournal.ca/jhs_droplistnav.phps
But when I install it and try to use it, I don’t get any output from it.
What am I doing wrong?
I’ve confirmed that I have plugins enabled via admin_config.php, I installed and activated this plugin via textpattern admin interface.
I cannot find any syntax problems, yet I suppose that there must be. If you can see any, I’d be grateful if you’d point them out!
Last edited by jj (2004-11-18 21:36:34)
Charming villains have always had a decided social advantage over well-meaning people who chew with their mouths open.
— Miss Manners
Offline
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
How have you installed this to your TXP install?
Stuart
In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.
Offline
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
Yes, it’s installed and activated it in the plugin area of textpattern.
I’ve used the new tag in a page template, but the expected output is not appearing.
However, it works correctly when I install and run it on my local install. It’s only on my live textdrive account where it fails.
Last edited by jj (2004-11-18 22:25:58)
Charming villains have always had a decided social advantage over well-meaning people who chew with their mouths open.
— Miss Manners
Offline
#4 2004-11-19 06:11:52
- zem
- Developer Emeritus
- From: Melbourne, Australia
- Registered: 2004-04-08
- Posts: 2,579
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
If there’s a syntax error, you’d see it when compiling the plugin.
The fact that it works on one account and not another suggests that it’s a logic error. Try printing some debug messages at strategic points to see whether the if() is being executed, etc.
Alex
Offline
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
I tried to do just that – the way it’s coded now, there should always be something returned by the plugin. And still there is no joy from it on Textdrive.
I created another simpler plugin and have the same problem with it.
Charming villains have always had a decided social advantage over well-meaning people who chew with their mouths open.
— Miss Manners
Offline
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
Are you calling the plugin with a txp tag? like <code><txp:xxx_myplugin /></code>
Last edited by osei (2004-11-19 14:01:10)
Johan Nilsson
Offline
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
Yep:
<pre><code><txp:jhs_droplistnav type=“c” label=“Browse” wraptag=“p” /></pre></code>
and
<pre><code><txp:jhs_ifnotfront><a href=”/”>Home</a></txp:jhs_ifnotfront></pre></code>
Charming villains have always had a decided social advantage over well-meaning people who chew with their mouths open.
— Miss Manners
Offline
#8 2004-11-19 23:22:49
- zem
- Developer Emeritus
- From: Melbourne, Australia
- Registered: 2004-04-08
- Posts: 2,579
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
> I created another simpler plugin and have the same problem with it.
Try the simplest of all (return “hello world”). If that doesn’t work, something is broken in your configuration or install.
Alex
Offline
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
Good idea.
I tried that, and even the return “hello world” is failing.
I guess I could reinstall textpattern, but… yuck.
Charming villains have always had a decided social advantage over well-meaning people who chew with their mouths open.
— Miss Manners
Offline
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
Maybe some brave soul would be willing to try one of my plugins on her or his site and let me know if it works or not? :)
Charming villains have always had a decided social advantage over well-meaning people who chew with their mouths open.
— Miss Manners
Offline
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
I took your first plugin and it seems to work fine for me. Maybe the problem lies in how you’re compiling them.
I used the j|g Plugin Creator to compile and install.
Last edited by wilshire (2004-11-20 04:52:02)
Offline
#12 2004-11-20 04:58:41
- Andrew
- Plugin Author
- Registered: 2004-02-23
- Posts: 730
Re: I can't get my plugin to generate any output
Perhaps the plugin relies on a variable that doesn’t exist at the time of the parsing of the plugin. I’ve had a plugin tag in a page not work before because it was relying on <code>$thisarticle</code>, and the plugin was parsed while that value no longer existed.
Offline