Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2018-02-22 13:01:33

miles
Website

Category Listing

Hello Textpattern Community

I have been using Textpattern for many many years but can’t get my head around this problem.

A client has a shop website listing products and they need a menu system like this:

• Lawnmowers
    • Cordless
    • Battery
    • Used
  • Chainsaws
    • Mountfield Chainsaws
    • Used Chainsaws

Etc….

However they obviously only want the sub menu to show when the first category is clicked. So it shortens the massive menu they have.

The products when then show on the right panel.

Can you guys help?

Last edited by miles (2018-02-22 13:02:51)

#2 2018-02-22 14:04:53

colak
Admin
Website GitHub Mastodon Twitter

Re: Category Listing

Hi Miles,

Some time ago, I posted a tutorial on creating ul based lists/sublists based on categories and articles on txp tips. Would that be of help? It would of course need to be styled with css and/or jquery to only show the top menu.

Yiannis
——————————
NeMe | hblack.art | EMAP | A Sea change | Toolkit of Care
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

#3 2018-02-22 22:55:49

jakob
Admin
Website

If what you’re primarily looking for is a 2-level category tree, where the currently active category is open, this should get you there:

<txp:category_list wraptag="ul" break="" children="0">
	<li<txp:if_category name='<txp:category />'> class="active_cat"</txp:if_category>>
        <txp:category title="1" link="1" />
        <txp:category_list wraptag="ul" break="" parent='<txp:category />' children="0" exclude='<txp:category />'>
        	<li<txp:if_category name='<txp:category />'> class="active_cat"</txp:if_category>><txp:category title="1" link="1" /></li>
        </txp:category_list>
	</li>

This is just a category tree with two assumptions:

• You don’t need the articles in the tree, as they’re shown in the product overview.