Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2017-07-11 06:07:46

raminrahimi
Member
From: India
Registered: 2013-03-19
Posts: 278

if a category has article

I’m posting vacancies (articles) on my vacancy category and chosing expiry date as well to hide when expired.
now i want to list articles which is not expired, if there is no article to show then i want to appear a text “currently no vacancy avalible”


<txp:article_custom category="vacancy" limit="5">
   <li><txp:title /></li>
</txp:article_custom>

Offline

#2 2017-07-11 06:30:38

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 9,032
Website GitHub Mastodon Twitter

Re: if a category has article

HI raminrahimi
would this work?

<txp:variable name="hasvacancy"><txp:article_custom category="vacancy" limit="1" break="" wraptag=""><txp:article_id /></txp:article_custom></txp:variable>
<txp:if_variable name="hasvacancy" value="">
<txp:article_custom category="vacancy" limit="5" wraptag="ul">
<li><txp:title /></li>
</txp:article_custom>
<txp:else />
<p>There is no vacancy available</p>
</txp:if_variable>

Yiannis
——————————
NeMe | hblack.art | EMAP | A Sea change | Toolkit of Care
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#3 2017-07-11 08:29:13

makss
Plugin Author
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2008-10-21
Posts: 355
Website

Re: if a category has article

or use plugin aks_article

<txp:aks_article category="vacancy" limit="5" wraptag="ul" break="li">
	<txp:title />
<txp:else />
	<p>There is no vacancy available</p>
</txp:aks_article>

aks_cron : Cron inside Textpattern | aks_article : extended article_custom tag
aks_cache : cache for TxP | aks_dragdrop : Drag&Drop categories (article, link, image, file)

Offline

#4 2017-07-11 08:41:36

etc
Developer
Registered: 2010-11-11
Posts: 5,087
Website GitHub

Re: if a category has article

I guess Yiannis means

<txp:variable name="hasvacancy"><txp:article_custom category="vacancy" limit="5" wraptag="ul" break="li">
    <txp:title />
</txp:article_custom></txp:variable>

<txp:if_variable name="hasvacancy" value="">
    <p>There is no vacancy available</p>
<txp:else />
    <txp:variable name="hasvacancy" />
</txp:if_variable>

In 4.7, <txp:evaluate /> will make it easier:

<txp:evaluate>
    <txp:article_custom category="vacancy" limit="5" wraptag="ul" break="li">
        <txp:title />
    </txp:article_custom>
<txp:else />
    <p>There is no vacancy available</p>
</txp:evaluate>

Independently, would <txp:else /> in <txp:article /> à la aks_article be useful and not confusing?

Edit: by confusing I mean you will not be able to use form attribute if <txp:else /> is present, you’ll have to write

<txp:article_custom>
    <txp:output_form form="my_form" />
<txp:else />
    nada
</txp:artilce_custom>

Offline

#5 2017-07-11 08:45:33

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 9,032
Website GitHub Mastodon Twitter

Re: if a category has article

etc wrote #306237:

I guess Yiannis means

<txp:variable name="hasvacancy"><txp:article_custom category="vacancy" limit="5" wraptag="ul" break="li">...

Hi Oleg, I guess both would work but yours is more efficient as it does not have to call for the articles twice.


Yiannis
——————————
NeMe | hblack.art | EMAP | A Sea change | Toolkit of Care
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#6 2017-07-11 08:51:26

etc
Developer
Registered: 2010-11-11
Posts: 5,087
Website GitHub

Re: if a category has article

Hi Yiannis, actually the if/else logic is switched in yours :-)

Offline

#7 2017-07-11 08:54:56

raminrahimi
Member
From: India
Registered: 2013-03-19
Posts: 278

Re: if a category has article

Thanks from all :-)

Offline

#8 2017-07-11 09:12:39

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 9,032
Website GitHub Mastodon Twitter

Re: if a category has article

etc wrote #306239:

Hi Yiannis, actually the if/else logic is switched in yours :-)

!!! Indeed!!! whoops ?


Yiannis
——————————
NeMe | hblack.art | EMAP | A Sea change | Toolkit of Care
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB