Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2015-10-10 22:54:47

gilibaus
Website

Plugin install via Composer

I am no php expert. Nevertheless I would like to install rah_backup plugin. Installation is via Composer. Will someone please tell me in layman words how to install this plugin? Thanks.

#2 2015-10-11 16:31:21

jakob
Admin
Website

Re: Plugin install via Composer

I was going to do a short walk-through for you but then ran into a problem myself. This does not mean you will have the same problem.

In principle, it’s very straightforward. Working on a local machine:

1. First see the getting started with composer instructions on how to install composer on your machine. On the mac it’s done in one terminal command and takes a few seconds, on windows there’s an installer to download. You should only need to do this once. If you have done it before, it may return an instruction notice on how to update it.

2. Make sure your local webserver is running.

3. Then open a terminal window (mac) / command line prompt (windows) and cd to your project directory with your textpattern directory (the one with the index.php and the /textpattern directory), e.g. on a mac that might be:

cd /Users/yourusername/Sites/txp-project-folder

replacing yourusername and txp-project-folder with the relevant infos. In the mac terminal you can type cd<space> and then drag the folder into the terminal window from the finder and it will insert the name. I believe the same thing works on windows. In windows you can also right-click on a folder and open command line from that folder.

4. In the terminal then enter the command that gocom specifies in the plugin help:

composer require rah/rah_backup:*