Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2012-11-03 20:59:46

mrdale
Website

Radical Idea "Save New" or "Save As" for write.

For the love of [your favorite deity] let’s get a f*!ing “save as” or “save new” button on the write page.

I believe this has been standard practice since computers first saved files to storage devices and I have yet to hear any kind of rational argument against… And I’ve been bitching about it since 2005, which is long enough for the devs to have gotten together and produced a 6 year old human or numerous adult ponies — let alone a button that simply saves a duplicate of an article.

#2 2012-11-04 05:29:33

colak
Admin
Website GitHub Mastodon Twitter

Re: Radical Idea "Save New" or "Save As" for write.

I would develop the idea of Mary’s plugin to add a functionality to the button which not only duplicates but also switches the status to draft for the new article. This will allow for title changing (important for some url schemas) as well as further editing.

Yiannis
——————————
NeMe | hblack.art | EMAP | A Sea change | Toolkit of Care
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

#3 2012-11-04 11:06:04

Bloke
Developer
Website GitHub

mrdale wrote:

a button that simply saves a duplicate of an article

colak wrote:

I would develop the idea of Mary’s plugin to add a functionality to the button which not only duplicates but also switches the status to draft for the new article.

And therein lies the problem. What exactly should the core do?

• Just duplicate it.
  • Duplicate it and prepend “Copy of “ to the title.
  • Duplicate it and append “ (Copy)” to the title.
  • Duplicate it and allow you to specify the new title/URL-only title.
  • If you’re going to the trouble of allowing the new title to be supplied, why not allow the section and categories and custom fields… ad infinitum to be altered at the same time?
  • Keep status the same or change status.