Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2011-09-26 12:45:53

GuyVerville

Learning Textpattern building my own site

I am very pleased to have found Textpattern. This is a breath of, perhaps old, but fresh air in the CMS world where everything can be so much complicated. I do Drupal websites, but I find the CMS quite slow, hard to maintain (always a security patch to implement somewhere…). I am not an expert in PHP, but I can manage.

I tried to learn Typo3, it was worst. Then Textpattern. :-)

What you will see is not complete (and mostly in French, except a translation in the Bio section). With this site, I want to know if Textpattern will be fit for:

1. create a multilanguage site (and easily)
  2. create a private section with a self subscription mechanism (some photos taken by me are not for all eyes)
  3. create a blog
  4. see if companies like (www.innergex.com [site actually in Drupal] could be made into Textpattern [i am very doubtful though]

www.guyverville.com

My feelings about Textpattern for now are:

1. Textpattern, except the official portal, looks verrrrrry old and obsolete. I am afraid this CMS will not be ported to more advanced Web technologies
  2. How is it secure?
  3. While I like Textile (which Google+ seems to adopt), is it friendly enough for my clients who will maintain their own site?

If i can see real possibilities here, I will be quite ready to propose Textpattern for my clients, and ask them give money to the organization to continue their good work (well, it will be part of my fees, they will not know I will pay you ;-) ).

Anyway, good luck to all of you.

Last edited by GuyVerville (2011-09-26 12:50:37)

#2 2011-09-26 13:18:12

colak
Admin
Website GitHub Mastodon Twitter

Re: Learning Textpattern building my own site

HI Guy and welcome to txp.

1. create a multilanguage site (and easily)

Can be done. You will need the mlp pack but it can also be achieved without it