Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2009-04-13 19:25:44

manastojones

How do you display the first article in a different spot?

Hi. I am new to Textpattern. Right now I am just messing around with it, but there is something I would like to be able to do that I just can’t figure out.

On my home page, I have a list of articles displayed like so:

<header></header>
<content>
    <sidebar></sidebar>
    <txp:article limit="10" offset="1" />
</content>
<footer></footer>

Anyway, I have it offset by one because I would like to display the first article in a different spot, preferably below the <header> and above the <footer> like so:

<header></header>
<txp:article allowoverride="0" form="article_head" limit="1" />
<content>

This way the first post could always be something like a sticky post, but the problem is it doesn’t render on the article_list page, and when it renders on the individual_article page (which I don’t want it to at all), Textpattern treats it as if there are two seperate articles on one page and places comments bellow each instance.

I’m sure I am doing this wrong, but there has to be a way to display the first article differently in a separate spot on the site on the index page, and have it not show up at all when browsing individual articles. Just for measure, here is the form I am trying to use:

<txp:if_article_list>
<p class="category">In <txp:category1 title="1" link="1" /><txp:category2> and <txp:category2 title="1" link="1" /></txp:category2></p> 
<txp:article_image wraptag="div" class="image" />
<div class="post-info">
    <h3><txp:permlink><txp:title /></txp:permlink></h3>
    <txp:posted format="%B %e, %Y" wraptag="p" class="date"> 
</div>
<div id="clearfix"></div>
</txp:if_article_list>

I am just not sure what I am doing wrong. Can anybody help me figure this out?

Last edited by manastojones (2009-04-13 19:44:12)

#2 2009-04-13 19:50:10

maniqui
Website