Textpattern CMS support forum
You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help
- Topics: Active | Unanswered
#1 2008-02-23 09:20:55
- marios
- Archived Plugin Author
- Registered: 2005-03-12
- Posts: 1,253
[textile] Textiles's Code Block rendering Textile v2
Textile’s default HTML to entities rendering behavior is a convenient thing to have.
The problem turns up, when we need to wrap our codeblock with something like this:
<pre><code class="html">
<!-- code example goes here -->
</code></pre>
Which we would presumable do with:
bc(html).
Which Textile will now mistakenly render like this:
<pre class="html"><code class="html">
<!-- code example goes here -->
</code></pre>
This isn’t quite what we wanted, since it now makes it impossible to target our code tag solely by class only.
This , I think is a Bug with the Textile Parser.
Note: Bug has been reported at Treshholdstate.
Last edited by marios (2008-02-23 09:36:40)
⌃ ⇧ < ⎋ ⌃ ⇧ >
Offline
#2 2008-02-25 01:14:35
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: [textile] Textiles's Code Block rendering Textile v2
…makes it impossible to target our code tag solely by class only.
Nope. :) Use the selectors as well:
.html {
/* applies to both tags */
}
pre.html {
/* applies only to pre tag */
}
code.html {
/* applies only to code tag */
}
Offline
Re: [textile] Textiles's Code Block rendering Textile v2
and if you want to get super specific
pre.html code.html {
/* stuff */
}
Shoving is the answer – pusher robot
Offline
#4 2008-02-25 14:18:47
- marios
- Archived Plugin Author
- Registered: 2005-03-12
- Posts: 1,253
Re: [textile] Textiles's Code Block rendering Textile v2
Sorry, if I missed something.
A rule of pre.diagram code.html, on the other hand will NOT match a codeblock that is a child of pre.html
The Cascade makes this an entirely different thing.
However, not that important anyway.
regards, marios
⌃ ⇧ < ⎋ ⌃ ⇧ >
Offline
Offline
#6 2008-02-25 16:29:51
- marios
- Archived Plugin Author
- Registered: 2005-03-12
- Posts: 1,253
Re: [textile] Textiles's Code Block rendering Textile v2
Gocom wrote:
bq. A rule of pre.diagram code.html, on the other hand will NOT match a codeblock that is a child of pre.html
O’really ;) How about this:
pre code.html {
content: "I love candy :-)";
}
Right, may be I didn’t express myself right.
A rule of pre code.html WOULD match ALL occurences of code.html.
What, if you wanted to match only those code.html tags, that are ONLY children of a pre tag with a class of .diagram?
(See what I mean with cascade ? )
regards, marios
Last edited by marios (2008-02-25 16:30:25)
⌃ ⇧ < ⎋ ⌃ ⇧ >
Offline
#7 2008-02-27 02:30:18
- Mary
- Sock Enthusiast
- Registered: 2004-06-27
- Posts: 6,236
Re: [textile] Textiles's Code Block rendering Textile v2
I’m a little lost, where is the pre.diagram coming from? Or are you saying you want to be able to target individual code blocks on a page?
Offline
#8 2008-02-27 09:17:31
- marios
- Archived Plugin Author
- Registered: 2005-03-12
- Posts: 1,253
Re: [textile] Textiles's Code Block rendering Textile v2
That was the Idea.
There could be occurences of:
- pre.diagram code.html
- pre.code code.php
- pre.code code.html
… and so on.
( However, not so important right now )
regards, marios
⌃ ⇧ < ⎋ ⌃ ⇧ >
Offline