Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2008-02-03 22:36:42

jsoo
Plugin Author
From: NC, USA
Registered: 2004-11-15
Posts: 1,792
Website

soo_toc table of contents generator

Contains one tag, soo_toc, which will produce a linked and nested table of contents for an article, based on the article’s headings (h1, h2, etc. tags). It is similar to cbs_article_index, but with the addition of heading-level filtering, a choice of relative or absolute URLs, and nested list output.

Current version: 0.1.5 (released 2017.02.15).

Details and download.

An example of the plugin’s output can be seen here.

[Discussion started in this thread

Last edited by jsoo (2017-02-16 02:37:55)


Code is topiary

Offline

#2 2010-07-04 18:38:43

net-carver
Archived Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-03-08
Posts: 1,648

Re: soo_toc table of contents generator

Hi Jeff,

emailed you a few days ago regarding this plugin from you website contact form. I have another one of my ideas for you — if you’re interested. Would be good to catch up sometime as I see you’ve been a busy bee in plugin-land.

Best regards,


Steve

Offline

#3 2010-09-02 15:55:01

lythande
Member
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 197
Website

Re: soo_toc table of contents generator

Hi Jeff,

I like your plugin and have installed it.
But: I need a border around the “soo_toc” for my design. I using the code for “soo_toc”:

<div id="toc">
<h4>label from soo_toc</h4> 
ul-list from soo_toc
</div>

If one article has’nt in the main-content (writing-page) a h1(#) (but maybe only h1) for put it in the “soo_toc”, the css-border in <div id="toc"> is still showing a line. Because the code <div id="toc"> is outside of the “soo_toc”-Plugin. Thats not very pretty.

Its there possible to making the div inside the plugin?
Or any another Idea (e.g. for using variables)?

Thanks, Lythande

Offline

#4 2010-09-02 17:09:51

jsoo
Plugin Author
From: NC, USA
Registered: 2004-11-15
Posts: 1,792
Website

Re: soo_toc table of contents generator

You can use variable and if_variable within a form or page template (not within an article body) to do this.

<txp:variable name="has_toc" value='<txp:soo_toc />' />
<txp:if_variable name="has_toc" value="">
<txp:else />
<div id="toc">
<txp:variable name="has_toc" />
</div>
</txp:if_variable>

Code is topiary

Offline

#5 2010-09-02 18:12:55

lythande
Member
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 197
Website

Re: soo_toc table of contents generator

Much thanks, thats wonderful!

<txp:variable name="has_toc" value='<txp:soo_toc />' />

Its working, if I add the needed attributes inside of <txp:soo_toc />. :-)

Offline

#6 2012-09-23 17:38:29

alannie
Member
From: Minnesota, USA
Registered: 2005-09-15
Posts: 150

Re: soo_toc table of contents generator

Hello, I just installed soo_toc with Textpattern 4.5.1 and it doesn’t seem to be outputting anything. I’ve used this plugin on previous TXP versions with no issues. Can anyone confirm whether this plugin is compatible with 4.5.1?

Offline

#7 2012-09-24 01:12:10

jsoo
Plugin Author
From: NC, USA
Registered: 2004-11-15
Posts: 1,792
Website

Re: soo_toc table of contents generator

Sheepish confession, I am a little behind on upgrading. I may not be able to look at this until next week or so.


Code is topiary

Offline

#8 2012-09-24 01:41:43

alannie
Member
From: Minnesota, USA
Registered: 2005-09-15
Posts: 150

Re: soo_toc table of contents generator

No problem, thanks for the quick response! :)

Offline

#9 2012-10-06 14:09:48

jsoo
Plugin Author
From: NC, USA
Registered: 2004-11-15
Posts: 1,792
Website

Re: soo_toc table of contents generator

Having finally upgraded, I have not found any issues with soo_toc. How are you using the tag?


Code is topiary

Offline

#10 2018-06-05 07:30:00

Destry
Member
From: Haut-Rhin
Registered: 2004-08-04
Posts: 4,662
Website

Re: soo_toc table of contents generator

This plugin still works, and I’m happy I found it. Writing/editing ToCs manually is some bad news.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB