Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2007-01-21 07:12:06

danwoodward
Member
From: Brooklyn NY
Registered: 2006-08-06
Posts: 51
Website

escaping php and javascript in default page

having issues with this little bit of code
<txp:php> for ($i = 0; $i < count($items); $i++) { echo 'imgsGallery['.$i.'] = new Object(); imgsGallery['.$i.'].image = new Image(); imgsGallery['.$i.'].image.src = "'.if(isset($items[$i]['LINK'])) echo $items[$i]['LINK'];";.' imgsGallery['.$i.'].title = "'.if(isset($items[$i]['TITLE'])) echo str_replace("\n", '', $items[$i]['TITLE']);";.' imgsGallery['.$i.'].caption = "'.if(isset($items[$i]['DESCRIPTION'])) echo str_replace("\n", '', $items[$i]['DESCRIPTION']);"; } </txp:php>

I think I’ve been looking at it too much, I don’t think im escaping it properly. I keep getting this error syntax error, unexpected T_IF any help would be much appreciated, thanks

Offline

#2 2007-01-21 07:37:21

Mary
Sock Enthusiast
Registered: 2004-06-27
Posts: 6,236

Re: escaping php and javascript in default page

Yes, JavaScript and PHP can be really evil to work with. I recommend using the ‘here document’ syntax of the echo construct:

<txp:php>
for ($i = 0; $i < count($items); $i++) {
	$item_link = isset($items[$i]['LINK']) ? 
		$items[$i]['LINK'] : '';

	$item_title = isset($items[$i]['TITLE']) ? 
		str_replace("\n", '', $items[$i]['TITLE']) : '';

	$item_description = isset($items[$i]['DESCRIPTION']) ? 
		str_replace("\n", '', $items[$i]['DESCRIPTION']) : '';

	echo <<<javascript

	imgsGallery[$i] = new Object();

	imgsGallery[$i].image     = new Image();
	imgsGallery[$i].image.src = '$item_link';
	imgsGallery[$i].title     = '$item_title';
	imgsGallery[$i].caption   = '$item_description';

javascript; // make sure there are no tabs or other whitespace at the start of this line
}
</txp:php>

Offline

#3 2007-01-21 07:57:21

danwoodward
Member
From: Brooklyn NY
Registered: 2006-08-06
Posts: 51
Website

Re: escaping php and javascript in default page

hi, thanks for the response. I’m now getting an syntax error, unexpected $end error. thanks for your help!!

Offline

#4 2007-01-21 09:18:36

Mary
Sock Enthusiast
Registered: 2004-06-27
Posts: 6,236

Re: escaping php and javascript in default page

Hmm. Do you happen to be entering this into an article? or is it in a form/page?

Offline

#5 2007-01-22 02:35:15

danwoodward
Member
From: Brooklyn NY
Registered: 2006-08-06
Posts: 51
Website

Re: escaping php and javascript in default page

its going into a page

Offline

#6 2007-01-22 20:21:51

Mary
Sock Enthusiast
Registered: 2004-06-27
Posts: 6,236

Re: escaping php and javascript in default page

Thing is this works fine for me, so I recommend you verify that you’ve got the code entered properly. For instance, did you follow this instruction:

// make sure there are no tabs or other whitespace at the start of this line

Offline

#7 2007-02-03 13:09:00

tito
New Member
Registered: 2007-02-03
Posts: 4

Re: escaping php and javascript in default page

Hello everyone!
I’m newbie in textparttern, and i need a little help with two thinks.
Looks very cool, thank you : )

One very related with this post, thanks in advance

1:
I’m triyng to highlight php code and works good but with some strange modifications..

notextile. <txp:php>
highlight_string("
<?
	$me = new vida(uniqid());	
	while($me->estoy_vivo())
	{
		$me->vivir();
	}
	$me->init_infierno();
?>
");
</txp:php>

the output is http://phpclases.com/article/2/probando-codigo-php any idea?
I will post PHP code all the time so if there is a better way give me some clues, i don’t know so much about textpartterns.

2:

¿Where is the value of the string of “comments” here http://phpclases.com/article/1/vamos-de-nuevo ?

3:
¿who to add the “Title of the section of the links” in templates?

Very thanks!

Offline

#8 2007-02-04 04:47:12

Mary
Sock Enthusiast
Registered: 2004-06-27
Posts: 6,236

Re: escaping php and javascript in default page

notextile.. <txp:php>
highlight_string('
<?
	$me = new vida(uniqid());	
	while($me->estoy_vivo())
	{
		$me->vivir();
	}
	$me->init_infierno();
?>
');
</txp:php>

Offline

#9 2007-02-08 11:28:18

tito
New Member
Registered: 2007-02-03
Posts: 4

Re: escaping php and javascript in default page

Thank you : )
regards

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB