Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2007-01-14 04:29:11

Dan Hoy

Beginner Looking for Good Starter Theme

Hi,

I am new to Textpattern and would like to install a good theme to cut my teeth on.
I downloaded a number of themes but they were all set up so differently I am sort of confused as to what is the best practice method of building a site.

My experiment with the various themes demonstrated that Textpattern is a very flexible system and I realise that it is probably a great asset to have so much flexibility when putting together a site. However, I would like to know from some seasoned users what would be perhaps, the most sensible approach to developing a site in Textpattern and if you know of a good solid theme that is built in this way.

Thanks for your time.

#2 2007-01-14 09:13:24

colak
Admin
Website GitHub Mastodon Twitter

Re: Beginner Looking for Good Starter Theme

I guess you have visited textgarden . I believe that there is not right or wrong theme. It depends what your site is about. The power of txp is its flexibility regrding presentation. Also take a look at the txp mag . If you let us know what your site will be about we might be able to suggest some themes for you…

Last edited by colak (2007-01-14 09:14:31)

Yiannis
——————————
NeMe | hblack.art | EMAP | A Sea change | Toolkit of Care
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

#3 2007-01-14 19:43:11

mrdale
Website

Rob Sable makes a bunch of great plugins I imagine his award-winning template is one of the best to learn from.

#4 2007-03-18 11:04:40

mrtunes
Website

is it just me or installing a theme very of confusing? i tried out “white and wild”, read the instructions, and it took a bit of fiddling to get images to show up with the server path(had to use full http://www.mysite.com/txp/img/) and then there’s some big layout problems
http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/3811/whiteandwildproblemdt8.jpg