Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2006-11-07 01:22:12

simoo

Hierarchies/relations between articles

Hi,

I am looking into Textpattern as an option to base a site for a record label on. Reason being that there are lots of pages for artists and their releases which seems suitable for a CMS approach, obviously on top of this there are other benefits such as news, blogs, forum, searching etc.

Would be ace if someone could enlighten me on a couple of points though. I’ve tried to find this out for myself but I’m very new to TP.

1: Is there a good way of defining hierarchies and/or relationships between articles. Say that I want to be able to browse artists and for every artist have a discography where each release is an article, would that be possible?

2: Is there a feature/plugin which would be suitable for listing upcoming events/gigs?

Thanks a lot,
Simon

Last edited by simoo (2006-11-07 01:23:31)

#2 2006-11-07 01:38:24

jm
Plugin Author
Website

Re: Hierarchies/relations between articles

1. You can use sections and categories, EX:
    1. section = Ska
      1. category = Third Wave. Users can access “Third Wave Ska” with http://mysite.com/ska/?c=Third-Wave. If the users want to see music from any genre with the “Third Wave” category/style, they’d use http://mysite.com/Third-Wave/. There are tags for all this too ;).
  2. I think you can use the future attribute, but I’ve never needed to. Here’s one plugin

Have you tried the demo?

Last edited by jm (2006-11-07 01:40:44)

#3 2006-11-07 23:27:57

nardo

depending on your specific needs… u can use built-in tags to deal with upcoming events/gigs

#4 2006-11-09 13:07:51

jayrope
Plugin Author
Website Mastodon

event list – see my plugin link below.
you’ll find it working on my website in the live-dates section

Last edited by jayrope (2006-11-09 13:08:52)

A hole turned upside down is a dome, when there’s also gravity.

#5 2006-11-21 12:50:32