Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2006-03-14 03:13:38

yacht_boy

Pro Bono design help needed for nonprofit

Hi all-

For lack of a better place to ask, I thought I’d post this here. I’m looking for free (no money) help for an existing site built in Textpattern. You are welcome to put a link to yourself in the footer and use the site in your portfolio. I’d like to accomplish several things—if people can only do one of them, a collaborative effort is fine.

Back story: I run a site that collects and distributes all the free textbooks I can find. It’s a fancy blog, I suppose, only it’s organized to be useful to people who would never consider reading a blog. I’m a college student, I’m dirt poor, and I know nothing about web design. Users of my site include other students, home schoolers, professors seeking to distribute their (free) books, and lots and lots of people in the developing world who can’t afford traditional textbooks. I don’t make any money off the site, nor do I intend to.

The site is www.textbookrevolution.org and it was built for me for free by a kind designer who put a ton of work into it. He did a great job, but the site is growing and he’s put more than his share of work into it and doesn’t want to get any more involved.

Take a look at the site. I like the color schemes and general layout, although you’re welcome to tinker if you’d like. What I want to change are organizational things. I want to

• improve the search capabilities
  • add support for unlimited tagging
  • switch out the category list for a tagcloud or a system of subcategories (so that someone looking for math books can drill down to books that are algebra or calculus or geometry)
  • make it so that all tags related to an article are linked with each article