Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2005-10-01 18:57:54

grassi3000

txp version supporting postgre in the near future?

Well, i like txp very much, but in my current situation i need to make a homepage using postgre.

I’m thinking about rewriting the mysql_ functions to postgre calls, but if there is a version of txp planned, that already supports postgre I’m going to wait.

So far there are about 250 calls to some mysql functions, where many are in the import stuff, and the others may be reduced to 3 types of calls, so it should not be very much work (I’m not a php pro, but I know how to write some functions in other languages, so maybe I’m wrong, am I?)

greets
g3k

PS: I hope I chose the right forum, as for this is not a real feature request, but I don’t know where else to put this thread.

Last edited by grassi3000 (2005-10-01 19:01:07)

#2 2005-10-01 20:07:08

davidm

Re: txp version supporting postgre in the near future?

I think you chose the right forum. I am in no way qualified to answer, but I have a question : How come you specifically need PostGreSQL ? Or, in other words, what is the advantage of PostGre over MySQL ? Is it so clear cut that it would require a whole rewrite of MySQL calls ? Last but not least, how realistic is it as far as maintenance is concerned ? Keep in mind txp is constantly evolving… and one last question : how does it affect plugins ?

.: Retired :.

#3 2005-10-01 21:58:51

KurtRaschke
Plugin Author

Uh, it’s already happening. See http://dev.textpattern.com/browser/development/crockery and check the forum…I think zem posted something a while back outlining the status of Postgres support.

kurt@kurtraschke.com

#4 2005-10-01 22:47:07

thebombsite
Archived Plugin Author
Website

Yep it is on it’s way once they have any bugs squashed. :)

Stuart

In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.

#5 2005-10-01 23:58:22

grassi3000