Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#13 2021-02-11 14:26:09

EuclidBox
Member
Registered: 2021-02-11
Posts: 16

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

Bloke wrote #328760:

Weird that you can’t get off the very first screen during installation. Racking my brain cell trying to figure out why. It’s just a simple submit button that loads the next page of the installation wizard.

Is there anything in the browser inspector’s console tab that gives a clue? Perhaps some other network resource is failing to load due to permissions or something?

Looking at the console everything seems to load correctly. If I edit the code in the Php to switch to the second panel instead of the first, the second panel loads but again the site resets after pressing the submit button.

Offline

#14 2021-02-11 14:31:11

EuclidBox
Member
Registered: 2021-02-11
Posts: 16

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

I have now reuploaded the whole repository after removing everything else. The error is still the same and I cannot get past the language selection screen.

Maybe as helpful information:
I am using Plesk to do all this as I don’t have direct access to the server itself. I don’t know if that could cause any problems.

Offline

#15 2021-02-11 14:32:31

gaekwad
Admin
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 3,407

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

Bloke wrote #328757:

This is usually due to missing files during the installation – including hidden (dot) files that sometimes don’t get uploaded.

Is there mileage in applying the changes from here, Bloke?

Online

#16 2021-02-11 14:34:53

gaekwad
Admin
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 3,407

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

EuclidBox wrote #328764:

I have now reuploaded the whole repository after removing everything else.

[…]

I am using Plesk to do all this as I don’t have direct access to the server itself. I don’t know if that could cause any problems.

Can you take and post a screenshot of your directory structure? Hide anything sensitive as needed.

Online

#17 2021-02-11 14:35:34

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,093
Website

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

Baffling. Sounds like it can’t instantiate the $_SESSION that passes data between pages of the installation steps. Can’t for the life of me think why.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#18 2021-02-11 14:36:31

gaekwad
Admin
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 3,407

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

Bloke wrote #328767:

Baffling. Sounds like it can’t instantiate the $_SESSION that passes data between pages of the installation steps. Can’t for the life of me think why.

Would a WAF or mod_security prevent this?

Online

#19 2021-02-11 14:40:22

EuclidBox
Member
Registered: 2021-02-11
Posts: 16

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

gaekwad wrote #328766:

Can you take and post a screenshot of your directory structure? Hide anything sensitive as needed.

This is how my structure looks like. Hope it helps. Else I can take another screenshot.

Offline

#20 2021-02-11 14:42:13

EuclidBox
Member
Registered: 2021-02-11
Posts: 16

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

Bloke wrote #328767:

Baffling. Sounds like it can’t instantiate the $_SESSION that passes data between pages of the installation steps. Can’t for the life of me think why.

While doing my own debugging I have seen that the step_getDbInfo is passed via post request to the server.

Offline

#21 2021-02-11 14:43:42

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,093
Website

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

gaekwad wrote #328765:

Is there mileage in applying the changes from here, Bloke?

Can’t hurt, but if EuclidBox can’t get off the language choice step, nothing will be shown in the second step.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#22 2021-02-11 14:43:46

gaekwad
Admin
From: People's Republic of Cornwall
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 3,407

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

EuclidBox wrote #328769:

This is how my structure looks like.

That looks just fine – presumably the scrambled directory underneath httpdocs on the left side is your subdomain? I know some hosting setups have subdomains inside domains.

Online

#23 2021-02-11 14:47:54

EuclidBox
Member
Registered: 2021-02-11
Posts: 16

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

gaekwad wrote #328772:

That looks just fine – presumably the scrambled directory underneath httpdocs on the left side is your subdomain? I know some hosting setups have subdomains inside domains.

It is a domain. The httpdocs folder was created automatically. The blurred folder beneath contains the content you see on screen and is the main folder for the domain (like the www folder).

Offline

#24 2021-02-11 15:40:24

philwareham
Core designer
From: Haslemere, Surrey, UK
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 3,481
Website

Re: Stuck at language selection screen while installing

Just to clarify. You are using the stable 4.8.4 release, yes? Not dev code from GitHub (although that should be working fine, too)?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB