Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#11 2020-06-11 05:20:14

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 7,987
Website

Re: have posts on external ( same domain) web page

Hi David,

Updates appears to be a page, not a form. Also did you include

<txp:article_custom section="updates">
<h1><txp:permlink><txp:title /></txp:permlink></h1>
<txp:body />
<txp:posted />, <txp:author />
</txp:article_custom>

in the changes_log form?

Lastly, if you would like me to have a look, please do let me know.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | State Machines | NeMe @ github | Covid-19; a resource
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#12 2020-06-12 14:30:10

davidmg
Member
Registered: 2020-06-06
Posts: 10

Re: have posts on external ( same domain) web page

I did include the form as you suggested
there is a change_log ‘page’ . I may have created it before joining the forum. Would that page needed to be removed ?

Offline

#13 2020-06-12 14:52:38

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 7,987
Website

Re: have posts on external ( same domain) web page

davidmg wrote #323729:

I did include the form as you suggested
there is a change_log ‘page’ . I may have created it before joining the forum. Would that page needed to be removed ?

Not necessarily. When you say ‘page’ do you mean the ones you create in >presentation>pages?


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | State Machines | NeMe @ github | Covid-19; a resource
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#14 2020-06-12 17:14:19

davidmg
Member
Registered: 2020-06-06
Posts: 10

Re: have posts on external ( same domain) web page

correct it is in >presentation>pages.

This weekend I will dig into TXP Documents and forum to glean what I can make sense of tags and the way they are done.

Your help is always appreciated

Offline

#15 2020-06-12 17:46:24

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 7,987
Website

Re: have posts on external ( same domain) web page

We are here for you


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | State Machines | NeMe @ github | Covid-19; a resource
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#16 2020-06-12 19:23:12

jakob
Admin
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-01-20
Posts: 3,841
Website

Re: have posts on external ( same domain) web page

You’re nearly there: Yiannis (colak) diagnosed it correctly above. The key bit is that ?f=form_name means render the output of that form (as opposed to a page).

You need to go to:

  • Go to the Presentation › Forms panel.
  • Click New form
  • Under Form name put changes_log.
  • Set Form type to Miscellaneous in the dropdown.
  • Paste you sample code (that Yiannis posted above)
  • Click Save.

Try visiting: http://www.atu1724.com/blog/?f=changes_log and you should see the output. It will look a bit basic because it’s not embedded in a page with styling etc. Your other php file should then also be able to bring it in.


TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

Offline

#17 2020-06-13 00:22:50

davidmg
Member
Registered: 2020-06-06
Posts: 10

Re: have posts on external ( same domain) web page

Jakob:
the instructions in your post above are already present.

visiting http://www.atu1724.com/blog/?f=changes_log interestingly does not work
however
https://www.atu1724.com/blog/updates/
article content is visible

also the php code <?php echo file_get_contents(‘https://www.atu1724.com/blog/updates/’); ?>
in the following web address below does get the contents from the blogs.

https://www.atu1724.com/changes.php

One other note about TXP I have not seen where I can delete pages or forms if I need to

Offline

#18 2020-06-13 00:43:21

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 9,456
Website

Re: have posts on external ( same domain) web page

davidmg wrote #323760:

One other note about TXP I have not seen where I can delete pages or forms

You can delete unused pages by clicking the ‘x’ alongside them from the Presentation > Pages panel. If they’re in use then they can’t be deleted.

Forms can be deleted by using the checkboxes down the left hand side of the Presentation > Forms panel to select the ones you want to remove. Then click the ‘With selected…’ dropdown beneath the list, and choose ‘Delete’.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#19 2020-06-13 05:42:47

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 7,987
Website

Re: have posts on external ( same domain) web page

davidmg wrote #323760:

Jakob:
the instructions in your post above are already present.

visiting http://www.atu1724.com/blog/?f=changes_log interestingly does not work

Hi David,

Apologies for being persistent. Could you copy paste here, exactly what you have in your changes_log form?


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | State Machines | NeMe @ github | Covid-19; a resource
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#20 2020-06-13 10:16:41

jakob
Admin
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-01-20
Posts: 3,841
Website

Re: have posts on external ( same domain) web page

davidmg wrote #323760:

Jakob:
the instructions in your post above are already present.

My apologies. I tried it out and you are right. It seems there is one further piece to the puzzle to get it working:

  • Visit Admin › Preferences and then Admin on the left and switch Advanced options to on at the bottom. Click “Save”.
  • Now reopen the Admin › Preferences page and switch to Advanced options on the left.
  • In the box called Custom form template types, add the following to the box and click “Save”.
[output]
mediatype="text/html"
  • Now visit Presentation › Forms and find your changes_log form.
  • At the dropdown at the top, set it to “Output (text/html)”.
  • Click “Save”.

Now when you visit http://www.atu1724.com/blog/?f=changes_log you should see output.

If not, check that you have articles in the updates section, and that the form name you are using and the one specified with ?f= match.


TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB