Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#25 2018-04-03 09:11:34

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,568
Website GitHub

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

Destry wrote #310580:

One suggestion, because I have to be clever in my error message… Maybe use a textarea field instead of the input, which is kind of hard to edit in.

Will do.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#26 2018-04-03 09:56:12

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,568
Website GitHub

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

v0.40 is released

For Txp 4.7+ only, since it uses the new language designator list.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#27 2018-04-04 01:17:57

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,513
Website

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

I am confused… In the release notes you mention that the input field was changed to a textarea, but after installing and accessing the Prefs panels, I still see an input field.

Also, tentative fr strings

#language fr
#@admin-side
smd_at_work_admin_message => Le site est en mode maintenance
#@prefs
smd_at_work => Maintenance mode
smd_at_work_enabled => Maintenance mode activée
smd_at_work_message => Message maintenance

Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#28 2018-04-04 01:19:27

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,513
Website

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

I am confused… In the release notes you mention that the input field was changed to a textarea, but after installing and accessing the Prefs panels, I still see an input field.

Also, tentative fr strings

#language fr
#@admin-side
smd_at_work_admin_message => Le site est en mode maintenance
#@prefs
smd_at_work => Maintenance mode
smd_at_work_enabled => Mode maintenance activée
smd_at_work_message => Message maintenance

Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#29 2018-04-04 07:37:25

Pat64
Plugin Author
From: France
Registered: 2005-12-12
Posts: 1,497
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

#language fr
#@admin-side
smd_at_work_admin_message => Le site est en mode de maintenance
#@prefs
smd_at_work => Mode de maintenance
smd_at_work_enabled => Activer le mode de maintenance ?
smd_at_work_message => Message de maintenance :

Patrick.

Github | CodePen | Codier | Simplr theme | Wait Me: a maintenance theme | [\a mi.ni.ma]: a “Low Tech” simple Blog theme.

Offline

#30 2018-04-04 08:31:39

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,568
Website GitHub

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

phiw13 wrote #310601:

I am confused…

The confusion is all mine. Note to self, when installing prefs, remember that Textpattern doesn’t update existing preference paraphernalia unless told.

Bug fixed in v0.41 and French Textpack included. Thank you both.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#31 2018-04-04 08:47:11

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 2,513
Website

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

Bloke wrote #310604:

The confusion is all mine.

Confusion, confusion everywhere…

Thanks, now I have a textarea.


Where is that emoji for a solar powered submarine when you need it ?

Offline

#32 2018-04-04 15:23:42

Destry
Member
From: Haut-Rhin
Registered: 2004-08-04
Posts: 4,753
Website

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

Anyone (not necessarily Stef)…

I have forms that build the opening and closing parts of my templates. The closing part includes the footer. These “global” template forms are used on the default page, thus used on the 503_error page too (as per default behavior).

But here’s the thing. There are a couple of links in the footer that I don’t want to appear when the site is in m-mode because they point to internal locations, which won’t work in that case and showing them is just bad UX, I think.

I could easily deal with this if there was a contextual class selector (e.g. <body class="error"> that functioned in relation to the plugin, but I’m not coming up with anything for how to do that otherwise. If I add my own class, it just impacts the content whether plugin is on or off.

You see what I mean?

Any genius txp tag magic to be had here?

Offline

#33 2018-04-04 15:29:33

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,568
Website GitHub

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

Destry wrote #310612:

Any genius txp tag magic to be had here?

Does the built-in plugin <txp:smd_if_at_work> conditional tag help?


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#34 2018-04-04 17:10:07

Destry
Member
From: Haut-Rhin
Registered: 2004-08-04
Posts: 4,753
Website

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

Yeah… I’ve been staring at those tags for a day, but now that you call it out, I see what you mean. It’s okay as a wrapper, then, I guess?

I’ll try it.

<txp:smd_if_at_work>
show only 3 of 5 lines
<txp:else />
show all 5 lines
</txp:smd_if_at_work>

Offline

#35 2018-04-04 17:23:03

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 10,568
Website GitHub

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

Destry wrote #310615:

It’s okay as a wrapper, then, I guess?

It only works as a wrapper. A good one. Not Kanye.

An alternative to your example:

<txp:smd_if_at_work>
    show 3 lines specific to maintenance mode
</txp:smd_if_at_work>
show remaining two lines common to both modes

Last edited by Bloke (2018-04-04 17:24:06)


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#36 2021-06-26 11:34:19

johnno
Member
Registered: 2007-06-14
Posts: 30

Re: smd_at_work: click to put your site in maintenance mode

Have just upgraded a site from 4.8.3 to 4.8.7, but the ever-useful smd_at_work appears to have gone on extended vacation :(
Just hope it hasn’t retired!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB